iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Verdict in brief: The Dimplex DCP9C is a cooling-only portable air conditioner with a published 2.6kW cooling capacity and a stated 9–20m² room range. It includes a window kit and remote, offers cool, dry and fan modes, and is specified at 51dB(A) on low fan and 54dB(A) on high. Those are manufacturer figures, not independent test results. CHOICE lists a page price of $699, but its numerical test results and the current market price are not established by the available information.
For an Australian bedroom, study or small living room where permanent air conditioning is impractical, the DCP9C has a useful feature set on paper. Your decision should depend on whether the supplied window kit suits the window, whether 20.8kg is manageable for your installation, and whether you can accept the uncertainty around real-world cooling speed, running cost and measured noise.
Dimplex DCP9C specifications at a glance
The figures below come from Dimplex Australia’s 2024 specification sheet and instruction manual unless a different source is identified. They describe the product as designed; they do not demonstrate performance in a particular Australian room.
Recommended Free Tools
| Specification | Dimplex DCP9C |
|---|---|
| Appliance type | Portable, cooling-only air conditioner with dehumidification |
| Published cooling capacity | 2.6kW |
| Stated room range | 9–20m² |
| Rated input | 1,300W (1.3kW) |
| Dehumidification capacity | 0.54L/hour |
| Modes | Cool, dry and fan |
| Fan speeds | Two |
| Timer | 0–24 hours |
| Published noise | 51dB(A) minimum; 54dB(A) maximum |
| Refrigerant | R290 |
| Operating temperature | 17–35°C |
| Thermostat setting range | 17–30°C |
| Power supply | 220–240V~50Hz |
| Dimensions | 280 × 290 × 675mm (Dimplex specification sheet) |
| Net weight | 20.8kg |
| Included accessories | Window kit and remote control |
| Warranty stated on specification sheet | Two years, domestic use |
Read the full Dimplex DCP9C specification sheet and DCP9C instruction manual before installation. The manual says, “For greater precision, please always refer to the rating label placed on the product.” Use that label if it differs from a generalised document figure.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What the DCP9C is designed to do
Cooling only, not reverse-cycle heating
The DCP9C is a cooling-only portable air conditioner. It can lower room temperature, move air in fan mode and remove moisture in dry mode, but the supplied information does not identify a heating function. If you need winter heating as well as summer cooling, this is not a substitute for a reverse-cycle appliance.
How to interpret the 2.6kW capacity
Dimplex publishes 2.6kW as the cooling capacity. That is a useful comparison number, but it is not a promise that every room will cool at the same rate. Heat entering through windows, ceiling insulation, direct sun, people, computers, open doors and the efficiency of the exhaust installation all affect the result. A compact, shaded, closed room is a more realistic fit than an open-plan area with several heat sources.
The 9–20m² room range is a guide
Dimplex states a 9–20m² room range. Treat the upper end as a suitability guide rather than a guaranteed comfort boundary: a 20m² north-facing room with poor insulation can impose a much heavier load than a shaded 20m² bedroom. Measure the actual enclosed area and consider the room’s sun exposure and ceiling height before buying.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Independent testing: what is and is not known
The available CHOICE page identifies the DCP9C as a cooling-only portable air conditioner with a 2.6kW capacity, 20.8kg weight, R290 refrigerant and supplied window kit and remote. It displays a price of $699, but the page extract does not state when that price was published or confirm that it is today’s retail price.
CHOICE keeps the expert rating, cooling score, energy score, fan-high noise test and running-cost fields for members. Consequently, there is no verified independent score here for cooling speed, efficiency, operating cost or acoustic performance. The Dimplex figures in this review should be read as published specifications, not as measurements made in a standardised test room.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
That distinction matters with portable air conditioners. A rated capacity can be compared with another model only when the test conditions and rating method are comparable. Likewise, a quoted decibel figure without a stated distance, room or test procedure cannot tell you exactly how loud the unit will sound beside a bed.
Noise: 51dB(A) low and 54dB(A) high
The manual lists 51dB(A) at minimum fan speed and 54dB(A) at maximum. These are the only noise figures established for this model. They indicate a 3dB difference between the two published settings, but they do not describe the tonal character of the compressor, airflow or exhaust hose, and they are not an independent laboratory result.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →For a bedroom installation, place the unit as far from the pillow as the hose and window allow, keep the exhaust path as short and straight as practical, and test the low setting before relying on it overnight. A remote and 0–24-hour timer make it possible to change settings without walking to the unit, but neither feature makes the machine silent. If your priority is very quiet sleep, look for a comparable model with independently measured noise at both fan speeds rather than relying on a specification alone.
Modes, fan control and timer
Cool mode
Cool mode is the primary air-conditioning setting. Select a target within the stated 17–30°C thermostat range and choose one of the two fan speeds. The unit’s published operating range is 17–35°C ambient temperature; operation outside that range is not established by the supplied documents.
Dry mode
Dry mode is intended for moisture removal. Dimplex lists a dehumidification capacity of 0.54L/hour. That is a rated capacity, not a guarantee of the amount collected in your room, because actual extraction changes with temperature, humidity and operating conditions. The supplied documents do not establish a universal drainage interval, so follow the manual for condensate handling rather than assuming the tank will remain empty.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Fan mode
Fan mode circulates air without using the appliance as a cooling cycle. It can be useful when the room is already comfortable or when you want air movement without the same cooling demand, but it should not be treated as refrigerated cooling.
Timer and remote
The specification sheet and manual list a 0–24-hour timer and an included remote control. Confirm that the remote’s batteries and the receiver’s line of sight work at your intended position. The documents do not identify app control, Wi-Fi or smart-home integration, so do not buy this model expecting those features.
Installation: a practical setup sequence
A portable air conditioner only works as intended when its hot-air exhaust is routed outside. The DCP9C includes a window kit, so you should not need to purchase a separate kit for a normal first installation. A replacement kit is relevant only if the supplied parts are missing, damaged or incompatible with your window; confirm dimensions and model compatibility before buying a generic accessory.
- Check the contents and rating label. Confirm the unit, remote, exhaust components and window-kit parts are present and undamaged. Compare the appliance label with the manual’s 220–240V~50Hz supply and 1.3kW rated input. The label takes precedence if a figure differs.
- Choose a suitable position. Use a stable, level surface near a window, with enough clearance for air intake and discharge. Avoid blocking the outlet or placing the unit where the exhaust hose must be sharply kinked. The 20.8kg net weight means the location should be one you can reach without repeatedly carrying the appliance up stairs.
- Fit the supplied window kit. Assemble it according to the DCP9C manual and create the best seal your window design permits. The exact kit dimensions and compatibility with every Australian window type are not stated in the available documents, so measure your opening before committing to a permanent position.
- Connect the exhaust route. Keep the hose as short and direct as practical. A long, crushed or poorly sealed route can return heat to the room and undermine the benefit of the 2.6kW cooling system.
- Provide the correct electrical supply. Use a suitable 220–240V~50Hz outlet and follow the manual’s electrical instructions. Do not assume an extension lead, power board or shared circuit is appropriate without checking the manual and local electrical requirements.
- Start with a conservative setting. Select cool mode, choose the lower fan speed and set a reasonable target. Close doors and windows to the area you are cooling so that outdoor heat is not continuously replacing the conditioned air.
- Check operation before leaving it unattended. Confirm that air is exhausting outdoors, the window seal remains secure and no warning or drainage instruction is being ignored. Use the timer only after the basic installation is stable.
The manual itself instructs owners to read and retain the instructions. For the complete assembly and operating sequence, use the official DCP9C manual rather than relying on a generic portable-air-conditioner guide.
Power use and how to estimate a running cost
Dimplex states a rated input of 1,300W. That is the electrical input rating, not a measured average over a day. The compressor may cycle, and actual consumption depends on room heat load, set temperature, outdoor conditions and how long the appliance runs.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
You can make a simple upper-bound style estimate from your electricity tariff:
Estimated energy cost = 1.3kW × hours running × electricity price per kWh
For example, at a tariff of $0.30 per kWh, eight hours at the full 1.3kW rating would be calculated as 1.3 × 8 × $0.30 = $3.12. That is a calculation using the nameplate input, not a promise that the DCP9C will draw exactly 1.3kW continuously. Cycling and operating mode can make the actual bill lower or different. CHOICE’s member-only energy and running-cost fields are not available here, so no independent cost ranking can be made.
Size, mobility and window compatibility
The specification sheet gives dimensions of 280 × 290 × 675mm and a net weight of 20.8kg. CHOICE rounds the dimensions to 68 × 29 × 28cm, which is consistent with the same tall, narrow form when the order of dimensions is presented differently. Check the manufacturer’s orientation and your own clearances before measuring furniture or a storage space.
The footprint is relatively compact on paper, but the total installation envelope is larger once the window kit and exhaust route are attached. Measure:
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
- the floor area where the chassis will stand;
- the distance from that position to the window;
- the usable window opening and the kit’s adjustment range;
- the path needed to move the 20.8kg appliance into place; and
- clearance for intake and exhaust airflow.
Do not assume a supplied window kit fits sliding, casement, awning or unusual windows equally well. If the kit cannot seal the opening, the published capacity will not tell you how comfortable the room will feel in practice.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.R290 refrigerant and operating conditions
The DCP9C uses R290 refrigerant. The specification sheet and manual list an operating temperature of 17–35°C and a thermostat range of 17–30°C. Keep those as separate concepts: the first describes the ambient conditions in which the appliance is specified to operate, while the second describes selectable target temperatures.
Do not modify the refrigerant circuit or attempt repairs outside the procedures and service guidance in the manual. For servicing, installation questions or warranty support, use Dimplex Australia’s my Dimplex Support resources.
Warranty and after-sales checks
Dimplex’s specification sheet states a two-year domestic warranty. The available material does not set out every exclusion, labour condition, transport obligation or regional service arrangement. Read the warranty card supplied with your particular appliance and check the current Dimplex Australia policy before relying on a specific coverage interpretation.
Keep the purchase receipt, model number and rating-label details. Those records make it easier to identify the exact DCP9C variant when asking support about a window kit, operating fault or replacement part.
What the DCP9C does well on paper
- Clear capacity and room guidance: a published 2.6kW capacity and 9–20m² stated range give you a starting point for sizing.
- Useful core modes: cool, dry and fan cover the basic tasks expected from a portable cooling appliance.
- Included essentials: the window kit and remote are listed as supplied, reducing the need for immediate accessory shopping.
- Moderate physical footprint: the 280 × 290mm stated base is easier to place than a wide cabinet, subject to airflow clearances.
- Defined control range: two fan speeds, a 0–24-hour timer and a 17–30°C thermostat range provide straightforward control.
- Domestic warranty stated: the specification sheet lists two years, although the detailed terms still need checking.
Limitations and unanswered questions
- Cooling-only design: there is no established heating mode.
- Real-room performance is unverified: the available information does not show measured pull-down time or performance at the top of the 20m² range.
- Noise is specification-only: 51dB(A) and 54dB(A) are published values without a disclosed independent test setup here.
- Running cost is not independently rated: the 1.3kW input enables estimates but not a verified monthly bill.
- Window compatibility may vary: the included kit is helpful, but its fit for every Australian window style is not established.
- Portability has a real trade-off: 20.8kg is movable between rooms for some owners, but not effortless to carry repeatedly.
- Current price and availability are uncertain: CHOICE’s displayed $699 is a page-listed figure, not a confirmed current offer.
How to compare the DCP9C with another portable air conditioner
Do not compare models by cooling capacity alone. Use the same questions for each candidate and insist on like-for-like test conditions where independent data is available.
| Comparison point | DCP9C information established here | What to verify on another model |
|---|---|---|
| Independent cooling performance | Not stated; 2.6kW is a manufacturer figure | Test method, room conditions, pull-down time and sustained temperature |
| Measured noise | Not independently established; published 51/54dB(A) | Distance, fan setting, compressor behaviour and test environment |
| Energy use or running cost | 1.3kW rated input; independent score not available | Measured kWh, standby draw and tariff-based running-cost estimate |
| Room suitability | Dimplex states 9–20m² | Whether the maker’s range is based on comparable climate and insulation assumptions |
| Installation | Window kit included | Kit dimensions, window types supported and replacement-part availability |
| Mobility | 20.8kg; 280 × 290 × 675mm | Handle, castors, lifting points and installed clearance |
| Moisture handling | Dry mode; 0.54L/hour stated dehumidification capacity | Tank size, drain options and instructions for humid conditions |
| Warranty | Two years domestic stated on the specification sheet | Current terms, service process and exclusions |
| Price | $699 displayed by CHOICE; date and current availability not established | Live Australian price, delivery and return conditions |
Who should buy the Dimplex DCP9C?
It makes sense when
- you need cooling rather than heating;
- your enclosed room is within, or sensibly below, the stated 9–20m² range;
- you can vent through a window using the supplied kit;
- you value a remote and timer; and
- you are comfortable judging value without an available independent cooling or energy score.
Look elsewhere when
- you need one appliance for heating and cooling;
- your room is open-plan, very sunny or larger than the stated range;
- you require independently verified low noise or running-cost data before buying;
- your window cannot accommodate the supplied kit without a poor seal; or
- you need an appliance that is easy to carry between floors.
Buying checklist for Australian households
- Measure the room’s floor area and note sun exposure, insulation and ceiling height.
- Measure the window opening and compare it with the supplied kit before ordering.
- Confirm that the product label and retailer listing identify the DCP9C, not a similarly named model.
- Check the live price, delivery terms and stock status; do not treat the CHOICE page’s $699 as a guaranteed current price.
- Plan a safe, level location close enough to the window for a short exhaust route.
- Check that the 20.8kg appliance can be moved into position without unsafe lifting.
- Read the current manual and warranty terms, retaining both with your receipt.
- If noise or energy cost is decisive, seek comparable independent measurements before committing.
Final assessment
The Dimplex DCP9C is a sensibly specified 2.6kW portable air conditioner for a small, enclosed Australian room. Its strongest practical advantages are the included window kit and remote, three operating modes, two fan speeds, timer, compact stated footprint and two-year domestic warranty. Its main uncertainties are equally important: no independent cooling, noise or energy results are available in the information reviewed, and the $699 CHOICE figure is not a confirmed current retail price.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Buy it when the room, window and portability requirements fit and you are willing to evaluate performance from the published specifications rather than an independent test score. If verified efficiency, measured acoustics, heating or guaranteed large-room performance matters more than those conveniences, compare models using the criteria in the table and require evidence for those specific claims.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

