What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
China Construction Bank Corporation has two ordinary-share listings: Hong Kong H-shares under 939 and Shanghai A-shares under 601939. They represent different market lines with different trading currencies, access rules and board lots. The bank approved a 2025 cash dividend of RMB3.887 per ten shares including tax. Its RMB2.010-per-ten-share interim dividend for 2026 was still a proposal awaiting shareholder approval in the cited half-year report. First-half 2026 profit increased, but the net interest margin narrowed and credit impairment losses rose sharply, so the shares still carry material economic, credit, interest-rate, policy and market risks.
China Construction Bank stock symbols at a glance
There is no single interchangeable “CCB stock” symbol. China Construction Bank Corporation (CCB) has ordinary shares listed in two markets. The issuer’s shareholder FAQ identifies the lines as follows:
| Share class | Exchange | Trading code | Board lot stated by CCB | What investors must check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| H-shares | Hong Kong Stock Exchange Main Board | 939 | 1,000 shares | Broker access to Hong Kong, HKD/RMB settlement and Hong Kong market rules |
| A-shares | Shanghai Stock Exchange | 601939 | 100 shares | Eligibility for mainland China trading, RMB settlement and applicable Shanghai rules |
The codes identify the same company’s two listed ordinary-share classes, not two tickers that can be traded through every account. A broker may support one market but not the other, and the two lines can have different prices, liquidity, investor access and currency exposure. The issuer FAQ does not substitute for your broker’s eligibility, settlement, tax or order-size guidance.
What the A-share and H-share codes mean
H-share code 939
Code 939 is CCB’s Hong Kong-listed H-share line. Hong Kong trading is generally quoted and settled in Hong Kong dollars, although CCB’s dividend process allows eligible H-share holders to choose RMB in specified circumstances. The 1,000-share board lot means an order for one standard lot represents 1,000 H-shares; your broker may allow odd-lot trading, but that is a separate facility and can have different execution conditions.
#1 Best Overall
A-share code 601939
Code 601939 is the Shanghai-listed A-share line. The stated board lot is 100 shares. Access can depend on where you are resident, the account and trading channel you use, and current mainland market rules. A-share settlement is denominated in RMB.
Why the lines are not interchangeable
- A share and an H share can trade at different prices even though both are claims on CCB’s listed ordinary equity.
- The markets use different currencies, trading calendars, order conventions and investor-access rules.
- Dividend withholding, documentation and currency conversion can differ according to the holder’s jurisdiction and the channel used.
- The reviewed issuer disclosures do not provide a current quote, turnover comparison or reliable contemporaneous A/H valuation gap.
Do not infer that one line is currently cheaper, more liquid or a better investment without matching-date market data and a valuation basis such as price-to-book or forward earnings.
CCB dividend history and the 2026 interim proposal
Approved 2025 ordinary-share dividend
CCB’s 2026 half-year report states that shareholders approved a total ordinary-share cash dividend for 2025 of RMB3.887 per ten shares, including tax. It consisted of:
Rank #2
- Comes with secure packaging
- Easy to read text
- It can be a gift option
| 2025 distribution component | Amount per ten shares (including tax) | Aggregate amount |
|---|---|---|
| Interim dividend | RMB1.858 | Not stated separately in the cited report |
| Final dividend | RMB2.029 | Approximately RMB53.079 billion |
| Total for 2025 | RMB3.887 | Interim and final combined |
Because the amount is stated per ten shares, the gross mathematical equivalent is RMB0.3887 per share before any holder-specific tax or currency conversion. A 100-share A-share board lot would therefore correspond to RMB38.87 gross, while 1,000 H-shares would correspond to RMB388.70 gross. Those examples describe the lot sizes and the approved rate; they are not net payment forecasts.
Proposed 2026 interim dividend
The board proposed an interim cash dividend for 2026 of RMB2.010 per ten shares, including tax, with an aggregate amount of approximately RMB52.582 billion. The report says this represented 31.0% of first-half net profit attributable to CCB’s equity shareholders.
That amount was not yet an approved or paid dividend in the cited report. It awaited consideration and approval at an extraordinary shareholders’ meeting. The report said payment would occur within two months after approval, with the record date, payment date, tax treatment and other arrangements to be announced later. Treat it as a proposal until a subsequent formal announcement confirms the outcome.
How H-share dividend currency works
CCB declares ordinary-share dividends in RMB. H-share holders are given a currency-election process under the issuer’s rules, allowing RMB or HKD in applicable cases. For the 2026 interim proposal, the report said H-share holders outside Hong Kong Stock Connect would receive HKD by default unless they elected RMB. Eligibility, election deadlines, exchange-rate treatment, tax withholding and payment dates can change with the final notice, so an investor should read that notice rather than rely on the proposal alone.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsHow to compare 939 with 601939 before buying
A useful comparison keeps the measurement date and valuation method identical. The following items are established or unresolved in the cited issuer material:
| Comparison point | What is established | What remains to be checked |
|---|---|---|
| Listing and code | Hong Kong 939; Shanghai 601939 | Whether your account can trade the chosen line |
| Board lot | 1,000 H-shares; 100 A-shares | Odd-lot rules and broker fees |
| Currency | CCB declares dividends in RMB; H-share elections may allow HKD or RMB | Your settlement currency, conversion spread and final payment terms |
| Price and valuation | No current quote or A/H valuation comparison is supplied | Same-time price, price-to-book, earnings multiple and expected dividend yield |
| Liquidity and access | Different exchanges imply different market rules | Current turnover, spreads, trading restrictions and investor eligibility |
| Tax | Dividend figures include tax | Your jurisdiction’s withholding and reporting treatment |
- Record the exact date and time of both market prices.
- Convert prices into one currency using a stated exchange rate, or keep the currencies separate and show the conversion assumption.
- Use the same earnings, book-value and share-count period for both lines.
- Compare the cash dividend on a gross basis first, then model the tax and currency outcome for your account.
- Check whether the lot size, settlement cycle and market-access rules fit your broker and account.
What CCB reported for the first half of 2026
The latest reviewed disclosure covered the six months ended 30 June 2026. It presents consolidated figures in RMB unless noted otherwise and was prepared under IFRS Accounting Standards. The interim statements were reviewed by Ernst & Young Hua Ming LLP under PRC GAAP and by Ernst & Young under IFRS. A review is not the same as a full-year audit opinion.
Rank #4
| Measure | First-half 2026 result | Year-on-year or period comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Operating income | RMB426.333 billion | Up 10.48% |
| Net profit | RMB171.677 billion | Up 5.56% |
| Net profit attributable to equity shareholders | RMB169.564 billion | Up 4.62% |
| Basic and diluted earnings per share | RMB0.65 | Reported for the period |
| Net interest income | Not separately stated here as an amount | Up 8.46% |
| Net fee and commission income | Not separately stated here as an amount | Down 1.42% |
| Net interest margin | 1.37% | 1.40% in first-half 2025 |
| Credit impairment losses | RMB130.028 billion | Up 20.79% |
| Total assets at 30 June 2026 | RMB47.328 trillion | Point-in-time balance |
| Customer deposits at 30 June 2026 | RMB31.818 trillion | Point-in-time balance |
| Non-performing-loan ratio | 1.29% | 1.31% at 31 December 2025 |
| Allowances to NPLs | 238.69% | Point-in-time coverage measure |
| Common Equity Tier 1 ratio | 14.24% | Point-in-time regulatory capital measure |
| Total capital ratio | 19.42% | Point-in-time regulatory capital measure |
The headline is mixed rather than uniformly positive. Income and attributable profit grew, and the NPL ratio edged down from the 2025 year-end figure. At the same time, the net interest margin fell 3 basis points from the year-earlier period, fee income declined, and credit impairment losses grew much faster than profit. CCB attributed the higher impairment charge primarily to loans and customer advances, financial investments and other credit-impairment items.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Is China Construction Bank stock risky?
Credit and China-economy exposure
CCB’s report identifies domestic-demand imbalance, structural divergence and external shocks as challenges for China’s economy. If businesses or households weaken, repayment capacity can deteriorate, collateral values can fall and more loans can migrate into higher-risk categories. A lower NPL ratio at one reporting date does not rule out future defaults or restructuring.
Interest-rate and margin pressure
Banks earn a spread between yields on assets and the cost of deposits and other funding. CCB’s 1.37% first-half 2026 net interest margin, down from 1.40%, shows the pressure visible in this period even though net interest income increased 8.46%. Future margins can move with official rates, loan and deposit repricing, competition, funding mix and balance-sheet growth.
Best Value
Credit-loss volatility
Credit impairment losses of RMB130.028 billion were 20.79% higher year over year. Provisions can change sharply when management updates expected-loss assumptions, borrower risk grades, collateral values or economic scenarios. The 238.69% allowance-to-NPL ratio is useful context, but it is not a guarantee that future losses are fully covered.
Capital, liquidity and funding
The CET1 ratio of 14.24%, total capital ratio of 19.42% and RMB31.818 trillion of customer deposits are important snapshots of loss-absorption capacity and funding. They do not guarantee safety: regulatory requirements, risk-weighted assets, deposit behaviour, wholesale funding and maturity gaps can change. CCB reports active capital management and a cumulative maturity gap, which investors should examine in the full report rather than treating any single ratio as a promise.
State and policy context
CCB is a major Chinese commercial bank operating within China’s policy and regulatory framework. Policy priorities can influence credit allocation, infrastructure and property exposure, capital rules, dividend expectations and the pace at which financial risks are recognised. Regulatory changes can affect returns even when reported asset quality appears stable.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Market, currency and investor-specific risk
Share prices can fall regardless of dividend payments or accounting profit. The two listings expose investors to different market liquidity, trading access and currency movements. Foreign-exchange changes can increase or reduce the home-currency value of an H-share investment or an HKD dividend. The cited issuer sources do not establish a current expected return, bargain valuation, tax result or price relationship between 939 and 601939.
A practical checklist before placing an order
- Identify the line: confirm whether you intend to buy Hong Kong 939 or Shanghai 601939.
- Confirm access: ask your broker about eligibility, settlement currency, board-lot and odd-lot handling, fees and trading hours.
- Read the latest dividend notice: distinguish approved amounts from proposals and record the record date, ex-dividend date, payment date, election deadline and tax rules.
- Check the financial trend: track net interest margin, net interest income, fee income, impairment charges, NPLs, coverage and capital ratios across several reporting periods.
- Stress-test the thesis: consider weaker Chinese growth, higher defaults, lower margins, currency depreciation and a reduced or delayed dividend.
- Set a valuation rule: use a current market source for price-to-book, earnings and dividend yield; do not infer value from the ticker or dividend rate alone.
- Size for uncertainty: keep the position consistent with your tolerance for banking-sector, China-policy and single-stock risk.
What is known—and what still requires a current source
The issuer disclosures establish the two codes, board lots, reported dividend amounts and first-half 2026 financial metrics. They do not establish today’s share prices, a live A/H discount or premium, trading-volume rankings, your net dividend after tax, or the approval status of the proposed interim payment after the report’s publication. Those items must be verified in the latest exchange, issuer and broker notices before trading.
On the evidence available, CCB combines substantial scale, positive first-half 2026 profit growth and reported capital buffers with narrowing margins and materially higher credit impairment losses. That combination supports a measured, evidence-based review of the specific share line and dividend notice—not an assumption that the stock is either risk-free income or an automatic bargain.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Recommended Free Tools

