Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

For most people who need one device for color PDFs, varied documents and research, the BOOX Note Air6 C is the most capable choice. Choose the Kindle Scribe (2024 release) if your priority is reading Kindle books and adding handwriting inside Amazon’s ecosystem. Choose the reMarkable Paper Pro if writing, sketching and distraction-free notes matter more than app variety or broad file support.

There is no universal winner. These are three different product philosophies: BOOX treats ePaper as a flexible Android-style tablet, Kindle Scribe as a large Kindle with a notebook layer, and Paper Pro as a focused digital paper system. The right decision depends on your reading sources, document formats, need for color, tolerance for configuration and preferred writing workflow.

Quick verdict

Device Best fit Main strength Main compromise
BOOX Note Air6 C Researchers, students and professionals handling color PDFs and multiple file types Color display, broad file support, app flexibility and multitasking More settings and software decisions than an appliance-like notebook
Kindle Scribe (2024 release) Kindle readers who also want handwritten notes Direct Kindle book integration, included Premium Pen and simple Amazon-centered workflow The 2024 model is monochrome and less open to general apps and file workflows
reMarkable Paper Pro People who mainly write, draw and review documents without distractions Focused interface and large 11.8-inch color Canvas display Closed operating system and narrower reading ecosystem

Best overall versatility: BOOX Note Air6 C. Best for Kindle customers: Kindle Scribe (2024 release). Best focused digital notebook: reMarkable Paper Pro. Those are use-case recommendations based on documented product roles, not a standardized laboratory test of latency, battery or writing feel.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What each device is designed to do

BOOX Note Air6 C: an ePaper research tablet

BOOX positions the Note Air6 C as a “10.3-inch color ePaper notebook” for reading, writing and research. Its appeal is breadth: you can work with color documents, organize handwritten notes, open a wider range of files and use an Android-style app environment rather than being limited to one store or one document service.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The Notes workflow is intended for serious document work, and BOOX highlights front-light controls and research use. A BOOX announcement dated September 15, 2026 describes a 10.3-inch Kaleido 3 color E Ink display, a 4nm octa-core processor, an included BOOX Pen3 and Dual Notes for viewing two documents side by side. Treat the current product page as the authority for the features included in the exact retail configuration you buy, because launch announcements and regional bundles can differ.

This flexibility is valuable when a reading session involves a journal article, a color chart, cloud storage, a reference app and handwritten annotations at the same time. It also means more decisions: refresh modes, app permissions, file locations and power settings can affect the experience.

Kindle Scribe (2024 release): a Kindle first, notebook second

Amazon identifies this model specifically as “Kindle Scribe – 2024 release.” It includes a Premium Pen, touchscreen, USB-C charging, adjustable screen light and 16GB, 32GB or 64GB of internal storage. The large screen is intended for Kindle reading as well as handwritten notes and annotations.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The generation label matters. Amazon lists a Kindle Scribe (3rd Generation) released in 2025 and a Kindle Scribe Colorsoft released in 2025 as separate products. Do not assume that a listing mentioning a newer Scribe or Colorsoft describes the 2024 device. The 2024 release should be treated as a monochrome Kindle Scribe; color capabilities from Colorsoft products do not transfer to it.

For someone whose library is already in Kindle, the integrated book store, reading position and account system remove much of the setup required by a more open tablet. The trade-off is that the device is tightly connected to Amazon’s services and is not intended to function like a general-purpose Android tablet.

reMarkable Paper Pro: digital paper with a narrow brief

Paper Pro uses an 11.8-inch Canvas Color display based on E Ink Gallery 3. reMarkable lists dimensions of 274.1 × 196.6 × 5.1 mm, USB-C charging and up to two weeks of battery life. Its design emphasizes handwriting, sketching, meeting notes and document markup in a calm interface rather than installing a broad collection of apps.

That focus is the product’s defining advantage. Opening the device generally leads to notebooks, folders and documents instead of a multi-app home screen. The cost is a closed operating system and a narrower reading and application ecosystem than BOOX. Marker choice and folio bundles also change the total purchase cost, so check what is included in the exact package.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Color and display: do not compare the names alone

If color PDFs, diagrams or highlighted charts are central to your work, the Note Air6 C and Paper Pro are the relevant options in this comparison. The Note Air6 C is a 10.3-inch color ePaper device, while Paper Pro provides a larger 11.8-inch color canvas. A larger page can reduce zooming on full-size documents; the smaller BOOX is easier to fit into a compact work bag. Neither dimension alone determines readability, because document layout, font size and your preferred zoom level matter.

The 2024 Kindle Scribe is a separate case: its documented specification is the monochrome 2024 release. Amazon’s later Colorsoft Scribe products are different generations and should be evaluated as different devices. When a marketplace listing simply says “Kindle Scribe,” verify the release year and model before relying on any color claim.

Color ePaper is not equivalent to a bright tablet LCD. The color layer is intended for navigation, diagrams, annotation and differentiated highlights while retaining an ePaper-style reading experience. Front-light use can improve visibility in dim rooms, but continuous or high-brightness illumination increases power consumption. Compare manufacturer battery figures only with their stated conditions; no standardized head-to-head battery test is established here.

Reading ecosystem, files and apps

Choose Kindle Scribe for an Amazon-centered library

Kindle Scribe has the least friction when your primary material is purchased or managed through Kindle. Books, account access and reading history are part of the same service, and the included Premium Pen lets you add handwriting without buying a separate stylus. This is especially convenient for readers who do not want to maintain a separate document-transfer system.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The limitation is scope. A Kindle is not the right choice if you expect to install general Android reading apps, switch freely among cloud providers or treat the device as a multipurpose tablet. It can handle supported documents, but the workflow remains Amazon-centered.

Choose BOOX for mixed sources and research multitasking

BOOX is the strongest fit when your library includes PDFs, office documents, downloaded reference files and material from several services. Its app-oriented design lets you select tools for reading, storage, annotation and communication instead of committing to one vendor’s ecosystem.

That openness requires maintenance. Different applications may render pages differently, consume power at different rates or need their own sign-in and export settings. If you want one fixed workflow with almost no tuning, BOOX can feel less appliance-like than the alternatives.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Choose Paper Pro for DRM-free and document-focused work

Paper Pro is suited to documents you can import into its supported workflow and then annotate, organize and export. It is not designed to replace a general app tablet or provide the breadth of a major commercial e-book store. Confirm that your essential books and file sources can be transferred before buying, particularly if your reading depends on proprietary apps or DRM services.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Writing and note organization

BOOX: tools and multitasking over minimalism

The Note Air6 C’s Notes environment is aimed at active research. BOOX’s Dual Notes feature, described in its September 2026 announcement, supports two documents side by side, which is useful for comparing a source with your notes or keeping a reference open while drafting. Templates, notebooks, annotations and export choices make it possible to build a workflow around a course, project or client, but you will need to decide how folders, sync and file naming should work.

Kindle Scribe: handwriting beside Kindle content

Kindle Scribe’s value is continuity: read on the large Kindle screen, then write with the included Premium Pen without carrying a second notebook. It is a sensible choice for marginal notes, reading journals and personal planning when the Kindle library is your center of gravity. Buyers who expect extensive drawing tools, multiple note repositories or unrestricted app installation should consider BOOX instead.

Paper Pro: the most deliberate notebook experience

Paper Pro’s narrow software scope keeps the writing surface central. It suits meeting notes, freehand diagrams, outlines and long-form handwriting where notifications and app switching would be a distraction. The same focus means fewer ways to customize a workflow or add specialist applications. Select the Marker and any folio with the notebook experience in mind, because the accessory bundle affects both ergonomics and price.

Specifications and endurance

Specification BOOX Note Air6 C Kindle Scribe (2024 release) reMarkable Paper Pro
Display size 10.3-inch color ePaper Large Kindle display; the supplied specification does not state a diagonal size here 11.8-inch Canvas Color display
Display technology Color E Ink; BOOX’s 2026 announcement identifies Kaleido 3 Monochrome 2024 Scribe; later Colorsoft products are separate models E Ink Gallery 3-based Canvas Color display
Pen included BOOX’s 2026 announcement identifies an included BOOX Pen3; verify the retail bundle Premium Pen included Marker choice depends on the package
Storage Not stated in the supplied specifications 16GB, 32GB or 64GB Not stated in the supplied specifications
Charging Not stated in the supplied specifications USB-C USB-C
Dimensions Not stated in the supplied specifications Not stated in the supplied specifications 274.1 × 196.6 × 5.1 mm
Battery claim Usage-dependent; front-light and color use increase consumption Manufacturer conditions vary; no standardized figure established here Up to two weeks, according to reMarkable’s stated specification

The figures above are manufacturer specifications or positioning statements, not results from a common test bench. Brightness, front-light duration, wireless activity, refresh mode, document type and app use can materially change endurance. Do not use Paper Pro’s “up to two weeks” as a promise that it will last exactly as long as either competitor.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which one is best for each buyer?

For color PDFs and academic research

Pick the BOOX Note Air6 C when you need color-coded figures, several document sources and the ability to keep research tools open together. Its 10.3-inch screen is smaller than Paper Pro’s, but the app and file flexibility is the more important distinction for this workload. Paper Pro is a credible alternative when you want a larger color page and can work within its document-focused system.

For Kindle books plus handwriting

Pick the Kindle Scribe (2024 release) when most of your reading already happens in Kindle and you want the fewest account and transfer decisions. Confirm that you are buying the 2024 model, not the separately listed 3rd Generation or Colorsoft Scribe, and do not buy it expecting a color display.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

For meetings, journaling and sketching

Pick reMarkable Paper Pro when the primary activity is writing on digital paper. Its 11.8-inch canvas gives diagrams and handwriting room, while the focused interface removes many tablet-style distractions. Choose BOOX instead if your notes routinely require external apps, color-heavy source files or more elaborate multitasking.

For a general-purpose ePaper tablet

Pick BOOX. It is the only option in this trio positioned around broad file handling, app flexibility and research multitasking. Budget time to configure it: the same openness that makes it adaptable also creates more choices than Kindle Scribe or Paper Pro.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to make the decision before you buy

  1. List your primary reading sources. If the answer is almost entirely Kindle, start with Scribe. If it is a mixture of PDFs, office files and services, start with BOOX. If it is mostly imported documents and your own notebooks, include Paper Pro.
  2. Mark every task that needs color. Color charts, maps and annotated figures favor Note Air6 C or Paper Pro. A monochrome 2024 Scribe is suitable only when color is not essential.
  3. Decide whether apps are a requirement. Need specialist readers, cloud tools or side-by-side research? Favor BOOX. Want the fewest software choices? Favor Paper Pro or Kindle, depending on your library.
  4. Choose page size deliberately. Paper Pro’s 11.8-inch screen offers the largest stated canvas. BOOX’s 10.3-inch format is more compact. The Scribe’s exact 2024 screen diagonal is not stated in the supplied specification, so check the current listing for the model you intend to purchase.
  5. Verify the exact bundle. Confirm pen model, folio, storage tier, seller, regional availability and return terms. Paper Pro Marker bundles and BOOX pen bundles can differ, while the 2024 Scribe is documented with a Premium Pen included.
  6. Check current price and stock in your country. Prices, promotions and availability change, and a listing may silently switch generations. Use the manufacturer or authorized seller page for the exact model immediately before ordering.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Common buying mistakes and how to avoid them

  • Confusing Scribe generations: write “Kindle Scribe (2024 release)” in your search and verify the model details. Do not transfer Colorsoft specifications to this monochrome device.
  • Assuming every color display behaves like a tablet screen: color ePaper is optimized for low-power reading and annotation, not saturated video or high-refresh graphics.
  • Comparing battery claims as laboratory results: front-light brightness, wireless connections and app activity differ. Treat “up to two weeks” as a manufacturer claim under stated conditions.
  • Buying Paper Pro without checking document compatibility: confirm that your essential books and files can be imported and exported in the way you need.
  • Underestimating BOOX setup: plan folder naming, synchronization, refresh settings and app permissions before a major project. Flexibility is useful only when the workflow is organized.
  • Ignoring accessories: a pen and protective folio affect writing comfort and total cost. Verify what is in the box rather than assuming every product includes the same bundle.

Bottom line

Buy the BOOX Note Air6 C for the broadest combination of color reading, document support, apps and research multitasking. Buy the Kindle Scribe (2024 release) for a Kindle-centered reading-and-handwriting routine, as long as monochrome output is acceptable. Buy the reMarkable Paper Pro for the most focused notebook experience and a larger color writing canvas. The best digital notebook is the one whose reading ecosystem and software limits match your daily work; screen color alone does not decide the result.

Frequently asked questions

Is the BOOX Note Air6 C worth choosing over Kindle Scribe?

Choose BOOX when color PDFs, non-Kindle files, multiple apps or research multitasking justify a more configurable device. Choose the 2024 Scribe when Kindle books and a simpler Amazon workflow matter more than openness or color.

Is reMarkable Paper Pro better for handwritten notes?

It is the better fit for buyers who value a focused writing environment, sketching and meeting notes. “Better” is not a universal measurement of pen feel; no controlled head-to-head writing test is established here. BOOX or Kindle may be preferable when notes must stay alongside apps or a Kindle library.

Which of these handles PDFs and color best?

BOOX is the strongest all-around choice for color PDFs because its documented positioning combines color ePaper with broad file and app flexibility. Paper Pro offers the larger 11.8-inch color canvas and suits a more document-focused workflow. The 2024 Kindle Scribe is monochrome.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much storage does the 2024 Kindle Scribe have?

Amazon lists 16GB, 32GB and 64GB versions. Select the capacity based on how many books and notebooks you expect to keep locally, and verify the exact configuration in the listing.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Do the three devices have comparable battery life?

No. The supplied specifications establish Paper Pro’s “up to two weeks” claim, while BOOX notes that front-light and color use affect consumption and no standardized cross-device test is available. Treat all endurance figures as usage-dependent rather than directly comparable.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the BOOX Note Air6 C worth choosing over Kindle Scribe?

Choose BOOX when color PDFs, non-Kindle files, multiple apps or research multitasking justify a more configurable device. Choose the 2024 Scribe when Kindle books and a simpler Amazon workflow matter more than openness or color.

Is reMarkable Paper Pro better for handwritten notes?

It is the better fit for buyers who value a focused writing environment, sketching and meeting notes. No controlled head-to-head writing test establishes a universal winner for pen feel.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which of these handles PDFs and color best?

BOOX is the strongest all-around choice for color PDFs because its documented positioning combines color ePaper with broad file and app flexibility. Paper Pro offers the larger 11.8-inch color canvas. The 2024 Kindle Scribe is monochrome.

How much storage does the 2024 Kindle Scribe have?

Amazon lists 16GB, 32GB and 64GB versions. Verify the exact capacity in the listing before purchase.

Do the three devices have comparable battery life?

No. Paper Pro is specified for up to two weeks, while lighting, color use, wireless activity and apps alter real-world endurance. No standardized cross-device test is available.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.