Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
If long-term updates are your priority, start with the Google Pixel 8 or Pixel 8 Pro, Samsung Galaxy S24 or S25, or Fairphone 5. Google and Samsung promise seven years of software support on the named phones; Fairphone 5 promises at least eight years of support and five major Android upgrades. Fairphone is also the repairability and warranty leader. OnePlus is worth checking only model by model because its published baseline is a minimum of three years of security updates.
Which HMD or Nokia alternative gets updates the longest?
On the published commitments covered here, Fairphone 5 has the longest stated support window: at least eight years of software support, including five major Android updates. Google Pixel 8 and Pixel 8 Pro, Samsung Galaxy S24, and Samsung Galaxy S25 each have seven-year-class commitments. OnePlus publishes a minimum three-year security-update period for smartphones and tablets, but the exact promise can be longer for a particular model.
Those figures are not interchangeable. “Seven years of software updates” can include Android releases, security patches and feature drops, while a promise of “seven generations of OS upgrades” specifically counts major Android-version changes. A long security-support period does not automatically mean the same number of Android upgrades.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFor a straightforward mainstream replacement, choose a Pixel 8-series phone. Choose a Galaxy S24 or S25 if you want Samsung’s wider flagship ecosystem and the same headline seven-year duration. Choose Fairphone 5 if keeping, repairing and extending the life of the handset matters more than having the broadest hardware and retail choice.
#1 Best Overall
- 6.7 LTPO OLED 489PPI, 1344x2992px, 120Hz, HDR10+, Bluetooth 5.3, 5050mAh Battery, Android 14
- 128GB 12GB RAM, Octa-core, Google Tensor G3 (4nm), Nona-core (1x3.0 GHz Cortex-X3 & 4x2.45 GHz Cortex-A715 & 4x2.15 GHz Cortex-A510), Mali-G710 MP7
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.7 (wide) + 48MP, f/2.8 (telephoto) + 48MP, f/2.0 (ultrawide), Front Camera: 10.5MP, f/2.2
- 2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900, CDMA 800/1700/1900, 3G: HSDPA 800/850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100, CDMA2000 1xEV-DO, 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/46/48/66/71, 5G: 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/66/70/71/77/78/257/258/260/261 SA/NSA/Sub6 - Nano-SIM and eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with GSM networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint., Etc. For Developers, Carrier Unlocked models will not allow an Unlocked Boot Loader.
At-a-glance comparison
| Phone family | Guaranteed support window | Major Android upgrades | Security support | Repairability and warranty | Important caveats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Pixel 8 / Pixel 8 Pro | Seven years of software updates | Seven years of software updates include Android releases; Google does not separately state a fixed major-version count in the cited announcement | Included within the seven-year software-update commitment | Repairability and warranty terms are not stated in the supplied manufacturer announcement | Check country, retailer stock and carrier support before buying |
| Samsung Galaxy S24 | Seven years of support under Samsung’s stated policy | Seven generations of OS upgrades | Seven years of security updates | Model-specific repair and warranty terms are not stated here | Update timing can vary by device model, network provider and market |
| Samsung Galaxy S25 | Seven years from global launch under Samsung’s stated policy | Seven generations of OS upgrades | Seven years from global launch | Model-specific repair and warranty terms are not stated here | Samsung says timing can vary by model, provider and market |
| Fairphone 5 | At least eight years of software support | Five major Android updates | Included in the at-least-eight-year support promise | Five-year warranty; designed around repairability | Regional availability and final support end date should be confirmed locally |
| OnePlus smartphones and tablets | Model dependent | Not stated as a universal number | Minimum three years for smartphones and tablets under the published baseline | Model-specific terms | Read the exact model page; do not apply the minimum to every device |
Google Pixel 8 and Pixel 8 Pro: the simplest long-support choice
What Google promises
Google says the Pixel 8 and Pixel 8 Pro receive seven years of software updates. The commitment covers Android releases, security upgrades and feature drops. In its Pixel 8 announcement, Google described the purpose plainly: “This makes these phones a more sustainable smartphone choice, because they’ll be secure and perform well for seven years.”
That wording is useful because it avoids a common misunderstanding. The seven years are a combined software-support commitment, not a statement that every year will deliver a new major Android version. Google’s announcement does not provide a separate fixed count of major Android upgrades, so do not convert seven years into seven guaranteed Android generations without additional model documentation.
Why Pixel is the best default alternative
- Clear policy: both named Pixel 8 models share the same seven-year software-update promise.
- One vendor controls the software: Android releases, security work and feature drops come from Google rather than passing through a separate phone maker’s update schedule.
- Long useful life: a seven-year window gives a buyer a defined support horizon instead of relying on an informal expectation that updates might continue.
This makes Pixel the least complicated recommendation for someone replacing an HMD or Nokia phone and wanting a familiar Android experience with a published long-term commitment. It does not establish that Pixel updates arrive faster than Samsung or any other brand; no cross-brand independent rollout measurement is available in the supplied material.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Who should choose it
Pick Pixel 8 or Pixel 8 Pro when your priority is a mainstream Android phone with a clearly stated seven-year software window and you do not need Fairphone’s repair-focused design. Select between the two Pixel models according to the hardware, size and price available in your market; the support commitment is the same in the cited policy.
Samsung Galaxy S24 and S25: seven years with the broadest flagship family
Galaxy S24 policy
Samsung states that Galaxy S24 receives seven generations of operating-system upgrades and seven years of security updates. This is more specific than a generic “long support” claim: the OS figure counts major Android generations, while the security figure covers the patching period.
Rank #2
- 6.7 LTPO OLED 489PPI, 1344x2992px, 120Hz, HDR10+, Bluetooth 5.3, 5050mAh Battery, Android 14
- 128GB 12GB RAM, Octa-core, Google Tensor G3 (4nm), Nona-core (1x3.0 GHz Cortex-X3 & 4x2.45 GHz Cortex-A715 & 4x2.15 GHz Cortex-A510), Mali-G710 MP7
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.7 (wide) + 48MP, f/2.8 (telephoto) + 48MP, f/2.0 (ultrawide), Front Camera: 10.5MP, f/2.2
- 2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900, CDMA 800/1700/1900, 3G: HSDPA 800/850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100, CDMA2000 1xEV-DO, 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/46/48/66/71, 5G: 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/66/70/71/77/78/257/258/260/261 SA/NSA/Sub6 - Nano-SIM and eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with GSM networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint., Etc. For Developers, Carrier Unlocked models will not allow an Unlocked Boot Loader.
Galaxy S25 policy
Samsung states that the Galaxy S25 series will support seven generations of OS upgrades and seven years of security updates from the global launch date. The starting point matters: the seven-year clock is tied to global launch, not necessarily the date a particular carrier or retailer begins selling a regional variant.
Why Samsung may fit better than Pixel
- Explicit OS count: seven generations are named for both S24 and S25, making the major-upgrade commitment easy to compare.
- Flagship range: the S-series sits within Samsung’s larger device and accessory ecosystem, which can matter if you already use other Samsung products.
- Choice across generations: S24 and S25 let you compare the remaining support period, hardware and local offers rather than being limited to one current model.
Timing and regional limits
Samsung explicitly warns that update timing varies by device model, network provider and market. A seven-year promise therefore describes the support obligation, not a single worldwide release date for every patch or Android version. Before purchase, identify the exact model number and sales region, then confirm that your carrier supports the intended variant.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Do not assume that an S24 bought late in its sales cycle receives seven years from your purchase date. Samsung’s stated period is attached to the model policy, and the S25 language specifically refers to the global launch date.
Fairphone 5: the longest stated support and the repair-first option
Support commitment
Fairphone says: “With the Fairphone 5, we became the first to offer guaranteed software support for at least eight years, with five major Android updates.” That gives Fairphone 5 the longest stated support window in this comparison and, unlike the Pixel announcement, a separate count of major Android upgrades.
“At least eight years” is a floor, not a promised stop date. It means Fairphone guarantees no less than that period under its stated policy; it does not set an upper limit on how long updates might continue.
Rank #3
- Camera description : Rear
- Connectivity technology : Bluetooth
- Display.size : 6.7 inches
- Memory storage capacity : 128.0 GB
- Operating system : Android 13.0
Warranty and keeping the phone in service
Fairphone also advertises a five-year warranty for Fairphone 5. The combination of a long software window and a five-year warranty addresses two different risks: software can remain supported while the warranty helps cover an earlier hardware failure. A warranty does not mean every repair is free or that every part is covered in every circumstance, so read the terms that apply in your country.
Fairphone 5 is the repairability-led choice in this shortlist. That matters if your goal is to keep one handset for many years rather than replace it when a battery or other serviceable component ages. The supplied policy establishes the repair-focused positioning, the five-year warranty and the support duration; it does not provide a comparative repair score against Pixel or Galaxy.
Trade-offs to check before buying
- Availability: confirm that Fairphone 5 is sold and serviced in your country.
- Parts and service: verify how replacement parts, authorized repairs and shipping work where you live.
- Hardware priorities: long support and repairability do not by themselves guarantee the camera, performance or network features you want.
Choose Fairphone 5 when longevity means both updates and physical maintainability. It is the strongest fit for buyers who prefer replacing a part over replacing the entire phone.
OnePlus: a conditional alternative, not a blanket recommendation
OnePlus publishes a minimum three-year security-update period for smartphones and tablets. That is a baseline, not a universal promise that every OnePlus model stops after three years. The manufacturer says to check the exact model page for anything longer.
How to evaluate a OnePlus model
- Open the manufacturer’s support or product page for the exact model and regional variant.
- Record the stated security-update end date or minimum period.
- Look separately for the number of Android-version upgrades; the three-year baseline concerns security updates and does not establish an OS-upgrade count.
- Check whether your carrier and country receive the same variant and support schedule.
- Compare the resulting dates with the seven-year Pixel and Galaxy commitments or Fairphone’s at-least-eight-year policy.
OnePlus can make sense when a particular model has a longer published policy or when its hardware and local availability are more suitable. It should not be presented as equivalent to the named seven- or eight-year choices without model-specific evidence.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #4
- Pixel 8 Pro is the all-pro phone engineered by Google; it’s super fast, powerful, and secure, with the new Google Tensor G3 chip that’s custom-designed with Google AI for cutting-edge photo and video features and smarter ways to help[1]
- Unlocked Android 5G phone gives you the flexibility to change carriers and choose your own data plan[2]; it works with Google Fi, Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, and other major carriers
- With the most refined design yet, Pixel 8 Pro has an immersive, 6.7-inch Super Actua display that makes everything sharp[3]; the refresh rate intelligently adjusts between 1 and 120Hz for responsive performance[4]
- Google Pixel 8 Pro has four updated pro-level cameras with Pixel’s best zoom ever[1]; Pro controls unlock advanced settings and support full-resolution photos[5]
- The Pixel 8 Pro camera gives you amazing video quality; it records sharp, smooth videos, even in dimly lit places; and Audio Magic Eraser uses Google AI to reduce distracting noises, like cars and wind[6]
Android upgrades versus security updates
These terms answer different questions:
- Android or OS upgrade: a major version change that can add system features, alter the interface and change platform behavior.
- Security update: patches that address vulnerabilities in the operating system, drivers or bundled components. A phone can continue receiving security patches after major Android upgrades end.
- Feature drop: a vendor-delivered feature package that may arrive independently of a full Android-version change.
When comparing policies, write the two numbers down separately. Galaxy S24 and S25 provide seven OS generations and seven years of security updates. Fairphone 5 provides at least eight years of support and five major Android updates. Pixel 8 and 8 Pro provide seven years of software updates including Android releases, security upgrades and feature drops, but the cited announcement does not split that period into a fixed OS-generation number. OnePlus’s published minimum is three years of security updates, with the OS count requiring a model-page check.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to choose the right alternative
Choose Pixel 8 or 8 Pro if you want the clearest mainstream answer
Pixel is the practical default when you want a mainstream Android phone, a single seven-year software commitment and no need to interpret a model-by-model minimum. The two named Pixel models carry the same support promise.
Choose Galaxy S24 or S25 if seven OS generations and ecosystem breadth matter
Galaxy is the better fit when you value an explicit seven-generation OS commitment, Samsung’s broader flagship ecosystem or the ability to compare two generations. Check the regional model and carrier schedule because timing varies.
Choose Fairphone 5 if repairability is part of the buying decision
Fairphone is the strongest match when you want the longest stated support, five major Android updates, a five-year warranty and a phone designed to be kept in service. Confirm local sales, parts and repair arrangements.
Choose OnePlus only after verifying the exact model
OnePlus belongs on a shortlist when a specific device has a support policy that meets your target. The published three-year security minimum is not enough to assume parity with Pixel, Galaxy or Fairphone.
Best Value
- Google Pixel 8 Pro featuring a large 6.7-inch Super Actua display, offering exceptional brightness levels, enhanced HDR, and improved visibility even in direct sunlight, powered by the Tensor G3 processor for advanced AI-driven performance.
- Pro-level triple-camera array, including a 50MP main sensor, 48MP ultrawide lens, and 48MP telephoto camera with 5x optical zoom, supported by Pro Controls for manual adjustments such as ISO, focus, and shutter speed.
- Advanced on-device AI features, enabling real-time photo enhancement, voice isolation, and improved background separation for both photos and videos without cloud processing.
- Dedicated temperature sensor built into the rear camera bar, allowing contactless measurements for supported surfaces and materials.
- Seven years of OS updates, security patches, and feature drops, offering one of the longest support lifecycles available on any flagship smartphone.
A buyer’s checklist before ordering
- Write your required end date. Start from when you expect to stop using the phone, not just from today’s purchase date.
- Separate OS and security needs. Decide whether you need future Android versions, security patches, or both.
- Identify the exact model. “Galaxy S25,” for example, can refer to regional or carrier variants with different rollout timing.
- Read the manufacturer policy. Look for the support start point, number of OS generations, security duration and any market qualification.
- Confirm local availability. Prices, stock and regional availability are not fixed by the support promise and must be checked before purchase.
- Check repair and warranty terms. A long software policy cannot repair a failed battery; confirm warranty length, service access and parts availability.
- Save the policy details. Keep the model number, purchase date and support statement with your receipt so you can resolve carrier or service questions later.
Common mistakes and how to avoid them
Counting every support year as an Android upgrade
Seven years of software support is not automatically seven major Android versions. Use the explicit OS-generation figure where the manufacturer provides one; otherwise report the broader software promise without inventing a count.
Confusing a security minimum with a full product promise
OnePlus’s minimum three years applies to security updates for smartphones and tablets. It does not establish three years of major Android upgrades, nor does it prove that every model receives only that minimum.
Assuming launch timing is identical everywhere
Samsung says timing varies by model, network provider and market. A carrier-branded device may receive an update on a different schedule from an unlocked version, even when both fall under the same policy.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Ignoring physical longevity
Software support cannot compensate for a phone that is difficult or expensive to repair. Fairphone 5’s five-year warranty and repairability focus make it distinct from a policy comparison based only on update years.
Treating a policy as proof of current stock
Support duration does not establish today’s price, inventory or local sales channels. Verify those separately for your country and preferred retailer.
Bottom line for replacing an HMD or Nokia phone
For the cleanest long-support Android choice, buy a Google Pixel 8 or Pixel 8 Pro. Samsung Galaxy S24 and S25 are equally compelling if you want seven OS generations, seven years of security updates and Samsung’s wider flagship ecosystem, subject to regional rollout timing. Fairphone 5 wins on stated duration, repairability and warranty, with at least eight years of support, five major Android updates and a five-year warranty. Treat OnePlus as a model-by-model possibility rather than a universal long-support recommendation.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

