Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The best e-reader in 2026 is the one that opens the books you already own or borrow. Choose a Kindle if your purchases and subscriptions are in Amazon’s store, or a Kobo if broad format support, physical page-turn buttons, or a non-Amazon library workflow matters more. Choose a color model for comics, illustrations, and color-coded highlights; choose monochrome for the sharpest, least distracting prose reading. A 16GB reader can hold thousands of ordinary text ebooks, but the exact count depends on file length, images, audio, formatting, and space used by the operating system.

Quick verdict: which 2026 e-reader suits you?

  • Best for an Amazon-centered library: Kindle Paperwhite. Amazon says the 2026 model is waterproof, has an adjustable warm light, and lasts up to 12 weeks per charge.
  • Best inexpensive waterproof monochrome Kobo: Kobo Clara BW, a 6-inch, 16GB reader.
  • Best compact color Kobo: Kobo Clara Colour, a 6-inch, 16GB waterproof model.
  • Best color reader with page-turn buttons: Kobo Libra Colour, with a 7-inch display, 32GB, and Kobo Stylus compatibility.
  • Best for large PDFs and handwritten notes: Kobo Elipsa 2E, a 10.3-inch, 32GB device that includes Kobo Stylus 2.
  • Best for comics and illustrated books in Amazon’s ecosystem: Kindle Colorsoft, but verify the exact generation and price because Amazon’s announcement and a Tom’s Guide review report different US starting prices.

These are needs-based recommendations, not a single universal ranking. Your existing purchases, local library, file formats, and digital-rights restrictions can outweigh a faster screen or a lower price.

Start with the books you need to open

Existing Kindle purchases

If most of your library is already in Amazon’s ebook store, staying with Kindle avoids rebuilding your collection or finding replacement editions. A Paperwhite is the practical monochrome choice when you want warm light and waterproofing; Colorsoft is the relevant option when you regularly read color illustrations, comics, or graphic novels. Amazon’s store size is useful only if it contains the titles and editions you want in your country.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Existing Kobo purchases

Kobo’s current range covers compact monochrome, compact color, button-equipped color, large waterproof, and note-taking models. Keeping those purchases on Kobo is the simplest path, particularly if you depend on features such as physical page buttons or stylus annotation.

#1 Best Overall
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) - Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio - Matcha
  • Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.
  • Effortless reading in any light - Read comfortably with a 6“ glare-free display, adjustable front light—now 25% brighter at max setting—and dark mode.
  • Escape into your books - Tune out messages, emails, and social media with a distraction-free reading experience.
  • Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
  • Take your library with you – 16 GB storage holds thousands of books.

Public-library borrowing

Library access is determined by your country, library system, lending service, title, and device instructions. TechRadar’s 2026 buying guide says Kindle library borrowing is limited to US libraries. Do not assume that a Kindle or Kobo will work with every library outside the United States. Before buying, search your library’s catalog, open the help page for its ebook service, and confirm that the exact device and borrowing method are supported.

Files from other stores or personal archives

Format labels are not enough. Digital rights management (DRM), encryption, and the seller’s transfer rules can prevent a file from opening even when the underlying format appears on a compatibility list. Kobo describes its readers as supporting a wide range of ebook formats, but the catalog does not verify every DRM case or every current-firmware transfer workflow. Check one or two real files—especially library loans, textbooks, and purchases from another store—before switching ecosystems.

Kindle models announced for 2026

Amazon’s 2026 announcement provides the following US starting prices and manufacturer specifications. Prices and availability can change by region, retailer, generation, and edition.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Model Storage options Battery claim Notable features US starting price in cited announcement
New entry Kindle 16GB Up to six weeks per charge Entry-level Kindle for Amazon ebooks $149.99
Kindle Paperwhite Storage was not stated in Amazon’s announcement Up to 12 weeks per charge Waterproofing and adjustable warm light $199.99
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB Battery figure was not separately stated Automatic front-light adjustment and dock charging $249.99
Kindle Colorsoft 16GB and 32GB options are described in the cited material Battery figure was not stated in the cited announcement Color display for illustrated books, comics, and graphic novels Amazon announced $289.99; Tom’s Guide reported $249 for its reviewed model

Amazon describes the Paperwhite as “thinner and lighter than the previous lineup,” waterproof, equipped with adjustable warm light, and capable of up to 12 weeks of battery life on one charge. That is a manufacturer claim, not an independently measured result in the cited material.

Rank #2
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) – Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio – Black
  • Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.
  • Effortless reading in any light - Read comfortably with a 6“ glare-free display, adjustable front light—now 25% brighter at max setting—and dark mode.
  • Escape into your books - Tune out messages, emails, and social media with a distraction-free reading experience.
  • Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
  • Take your library with you - 16 GB storage holds thousands of books.

Why the Colorsoft price needs checking

The Amazon announcement gives a US starting price of $289.99 for the 16GB Colorsoft. Tom’s Guide’s 2026 review lists a $249 US starting price for the model it reviewed and discusses 16GB and 32GB versions. Those figures may refer to different generations, editions, or listings. Check the current retailer page, exact storage, and whether the listing is a Signature Edition before judging value.

Optional Kindle accessories

Amazon announced Kindle Click, a $34.99 Bluetooth page-turn remote compatible with the new Kindle devices and Kindle models from 2024 or later. It is intended for situations such as reading under covers, on a treadmill, or on a tray table. Amazon also announced a $79.99 Page-Turn Cover for Paperwhite Signature Edition and Colorsoft Signature Edition. Both prices and compatibility can change; neither accessory is required for ordinary reading.

Kobo’s current US range

Rakuten Kobo’s live US catalog lists five readers. The prices below are catalog snapshots and may change.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Model Screen Storage Color Waterproof Controls or pen support US catalog price
Clara BW 6 inches 16GB Monochrome Yes Compact reader $159.99
Clara Colour 6 inches 16GB Color Yes Compact reader $179.99
Libra Colour 7 inches 32GB Color Catalog listing does not state waterproofing in the cited row Physical page-turn buttons; Kobo Stylus compatibility $259.99
Sage 8 inches 32GB Monochrome Yes Large reading area $269.99
Elipsa 2E 10.3 inches 32GB Monochrome Catalog listing does not state waterproofing in the cited row Kobo Stylus 2 included for notes and PDF markup $399.99

Kobo says its readers support a wide range of ebook formats and provide weeks of battery life. “Wide range” does not guarantee that every DRM-protected file will transfer or open, so test your own files and check the current help documentation for the exact device.

Rank #3
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Black
  • Kindle Paperwhite – 7“ Paperwhite display with high contrast ratio and fast page turns.
  • Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
  • Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
  • Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
  • Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.

Monochrome or color: is color worth paying for?

Choose monochrome for mostly prose

Black-and-white E Ink is the straightforward choice for novels, essays, news, and other text-heavy books. You avoid paying for a color layer you may rarely use, and covers or illustrations are not central to the reading experience. A compact 6-inch model is easier to carry; a 7- or 8-inch model shows more text per page and can reduce page turns.

Choose color for visual books

Color earns its cost when you read comics, graphic novels, cookbooks, travel guides, children’s books, textbooks with diagrams, or books that use color-coded highlighting. Colorsoft and Kobo’s Clara Colour and Libra Colour target those uses. Compare a real sample from your library rather than relying on a product image: color e-paper can render illustrations differently from a phone or tablet, and the extra display layer can change the look of ordinary text.

Check the price and reading mix

If color content is occasional, a monochrome reader plus a phone or tablet for the occasional illustrated title may be better value. If visual books are a weekly part of your reading, the larger color screen on Libra Colour or the Amazon-centered Colorsoft may save enough switching to justify its price.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How many books fit on 16GB?

There is no universal book count. Ebook files vary dramatically: a short novel made mostly of text is small, while an illustrated book, comic, textbook, audiobook, or heavily formatted title can be much larger. The operating system and preinstalled data also consume part of the advertised capacity.

Rank #4
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Raspberry
  • Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
  • Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
  • Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
  • Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
  • Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.
  • Kobo advertises up to 12,000 ebooks on selected 16GB Clara models.
  • Kobo advertises up to 24,000 ebooks on selected 32GB Libra Colour, Sage, and Elipsa 2E models.
  • Tom’s Guide estimated almost 6,000 books on the 16GB Kindle Colorsoft it reviewed, depending on length, images, and other factors.

These are vendor or reviewer estimates, not guarantees. For a reader who downloads ordinary text novels and removes finished books, 16GB is already a large offline library. More capacity matters when you keep many audiobooks, large illustrated files, comics, PDFs, or an entire collection downloaded at once.

Features that change everyday use

Waterproofing

Waterproofing is valuable at a pool, beach, bath, or rainy commute, but it does not make a reader indestructible. Confirm the exact model’s rating and follow the manufacturer’s limits for depth, duration, and fresh versus salt water.

Front light, warm light, and dark mode

An adjustable front light lets you read without an external lamp. Warm light shifts the display toward amber for evening comfort. Dark mode can help some readers in low light, but it is a preference rather than a substitute for a suitable room light. Paperwhite’s adjustable warm light is explicitly part of Amazon’s 2026 specification; Kobo’s catalog also lists front-light and battery features across its range, but the exact controls vary by model.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Physical page-turn buttons

Buttons let you turn pages without moving a finger across the screen. Libra Colour is the clearest current Kobo choice for this feature. Choose it when one-handed reading, gloves, or a stable grip matters more than the smallest possible body.

Best Value
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024 model) – Auto-adjusting front light, wireless charging, and weeks of battery life – Metallic Jade
  • Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
  • Upgrade your reading experience – The Signature Edition features an auto-adjusting front light, wireless charging, and 32 GB storage.
  • Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
  • Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
  • Adapts to your surroundings – The auto-adjusting front light lets you read in the brightest sunlight or late into the night.

Stylus and PDF annotation

Stylus support is a specialized feature, not a requirement for novels. Libra Colour supports Kobo Stylus, while Elipsa 2E includes Kobo Stylus 2 for note-taking and PDF markup. Large pages make documents easier to view, but a 10.3-inch reader is less pocketable and costs substantially more than a 6-inch model.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Kindle or Kobo: a practical decision matrix

Your priority Better starting point Why Check before buying
You already own many Amazon ebooks Kindle Paperwhite or Colorsoft Keeps the existing Amazon library in its native ecosystem Exact country store, edition, and DRM for any outside files
You want broad format flexibility Kobo Clara BW, Clara Colour, or Libra Colour Kobo describes support for a wide range of ebook formats Whether your particular files are DRM-protected and transferable
You borrow from a US public library Whichever ecosystem your library supports Library lending depends on the service and device, not just screen hardware Catalog availability, loan workflow, and return method
You read comics or illustrated books Colorsoft, Clara Colour, or Libra Colour Color is useful for color artwork and diagrams Sample pages, storage needs, and current price
You want page-turn buttons Kobo Libra Colour Has physical page-turn controls and 32GB storage Whether its color display and size suit your prose reading
You annotate PDFs Kobo Elipsa 2E 10.3-inch screen and included Kobo Stylus 2 Document DRM, export workflow, and portability

A buying process that avoids an expensive mismatch

  1. List your real sources. Write down the stores where you bought ebooks, your subscription services, your public library, and any personal files you expect to load.
  2. Check the library first. Search for two or three books you actually borrow. Confirm the lending service’s supported devices in your country and note whether a title is available in an edition your reader can open.
  3. Inspect DRM and format. Identify the file type and protection on a representative purchase or loan. A format name by itself does not prove compatibility.
  4. Decide monochrome versus color. Count how often you read visual books, not how attractive a color demo looks. Choose color when it solves a recurring need.
  5. Choose the physical size and controls. Pick 6 inches for portability, 7 inches for a middle ground with buttons, 8 inches for a larger monochrome page, or 10.3 inches for document work and notes.
  6. Choose capacity by content, not the headline number. Sixteen gigabytes is ample for thousands of ordinary novels. Move to 32GB for large illustrated collections, many PDFs, or audiobooks kept offline.
  7. Verify the live listing. Recheck regional price, generation, storage, bundle contents, waterproofing, and return policy immediately before payment. This is essential for Colorsoft because the cited US prices conflict.
  8. Test before migrating everything. Load one purchased file, one library loan if available, and one personal document. Confirm downloading, reading, annotations, and returns before moving your full collection.

Common problems and how to prevent them

“The file format is supported, but the book will not open.”

DRM is the usual reason. Confirm which account or application authorized the file, whether the title is tied to a specific store, and whether the device maker documents that transfer path. Do not strip protection or assume that changing an extension will help.

“My library book is unavailable on this reader.”

Check the library’s country-specific instructions and the title’s lending edition. A device can be excellent hardware and still be unsuitable for a particular library service. TechRadar’s guidance that Kindle borrowing is limited to US libraries is a reminder not to generalize US workflows to other regions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“I bought color but still read mostly novels.”

Use the return window if the text display, weight, or price does not justify the visual features. For prose-first readers, a waterproof monochrome model may be the better long-term choice.

“Storage filled sooner than expected.”

Look for audiobooks, comics, PDFs, and duplicated downloads first. Remove completed books or keep them in the associated cloud library when available. Capacity estimates assume ordinary ebook sizes and do not account for every reader’s media mix.

“The advertised battery life does not match my routine.”

Battery claims are “up to” figures measured under specified conditions. Bright lighting, wireless use, frequent page turns, audio, and cold temperatures can reduce runtime. Amazon’s six-week and 12-week figures are manufacturer claims, not guarantees for every reading pattern.

Bottom line

Buy the ecosystem that already contains your books and supports your library. For Amazon-heavy collections, the 2026 Kindle Paperwhite is the balanced waterproof monochrome choice, while Colorsoft is the color alternative after you verify the exact listing and price. For readers who want a broad-format Kobo catalog, physical buttons, or stylus workflows, Clara BW, Clara Colour, Libra Colour, Sage, and Elipsa 2E cover progressively larger and more specialized needs. A 16GB reader already carries thousands of ordinary text books; spend more on color, screen size, buttons, or 32GB only when those features match how you actually read.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) - Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio - Matcha
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) - Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio - Matcha
Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.; Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
$149.99
Bestseller No. 2
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) – Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio – Black
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) – Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio – Black
Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.; Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
$149.99
Bestseller No. 3
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7' glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Black
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Black
Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
$199.99
Bestseller No. 4
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7' glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Raspberry
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Raspberry
Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
$199.99

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.