Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

There is no universal best platform for selling digital products. The right choice depends on what you sell, where buyers come from, how much you can pay per order, who handles tax collection, and how much control you need over your storefront and customer data. For a social audience and a simple download, a pay-per-sale service may be enough. A course business may need teaching tools, while an established brand may justify a full ecommerce system.

This guide compares nine named services covered by current official-page material accessed in October 2026, plus a tenth path: operating a storefront on your own site. It separates verified fee claims from details that still need a live plan check, so you can make a decision without treating a vendor comparison as an independent ranking.

Quick answer: match the platform to your selling model

Your situation Most plausible starting point Why
You sell occasional files, ebooks, tutorials, memberships, or software and want no monthly bill Gumroad or Lemon Squeezy Both publish pay-per-sale pricing with no monthly ecommerce charge in the captured pages. Their fee structures and tax claims differ, so calculate the complete checkout cost.
You want a low-cost branded storefront and can bring your own traffic Payhip Its Free Forever, Plus, and Pro tiers trade monthly cost against a lower platform percentage. Stripe or PayPal processing remains additional.
Most buyers come from social posts, a newsletter, or direct links Stan The October 2026 comparison describes it as social-first and subscription-based, without a platform transaction fee; payment-processing charges may still apply.
You need courses, coaching, memberships, email, or a website in one suite Podia or Teachable Podia is described as a broader creator suite; Teachable is presented as course-first. Current plan limits and fees require a direct check.
You want searchable marketplace traffic for templates or printables Etsy Its marketplace model can expose products to people already searching, but you give up some brand and customer-relationship control. Verify current seller fees and digital-item rules.
You need a highly customizable, expanding store Shopify It is characterized as a broader ecommerce system with more setup and cost. Exact plan and payment details vary and were not captured here.
You want a high-end all-in-one business platform Kajabi It appears in creator-platform coverage, but the available material does not establish current pricing or features well enough for a specific recommendation.
You need maximum ownership and are willing to manage technology Your own website and checkout stack This is a platform path rather than a named vendor. It can provide the most control, but you must arrange hosting, checkout, tax processes, delivery, security, analytics, and support yourself.

These are starting points, not a ranking. Before paying, open the current pricing and terms page for the candidate you prefer and confirm billing cadence, country availability, payout timing, payment fees, refund rules, and product restrictions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Six questions that determine the right platform

1. What exactly are you selling?

List every offer you expect to sell in the next 12 months: one-off downloads, templates, ebooks, video courses, memberships, coaching, software subscriptions, or physical goods. A platform optimized for file delivery may be inexpensive for a PDF but awkward for graded lessons, community access, or recurring coaching. Conversely, an all-in-one course suite can be excessive if your business is one $9 template.

2. Who supplies the traffic?

There are two fundamentally different acquisition models. In a seller-led model, you bring buyers through social posts, email, search content, partnerships, or an existing website. In a marketplace model, shoppers search inside the platform. Seller-led tools generally provide more control over branding and customer journeys; marketplaces can provide discovery but impose listing rules and reduce your control over the relationship.

3. What is the complete cost per order?

Do not compare a headline percentage in isolation. Add the monthly subscription, platform percentage, fixed per-sale charge, card or wallet processing, listing charges, currency conversion, refunds, and paid add-ons. A “free” tier can be the most expensive option once sales volume rises, while a subscription can reduce variable costs at higher volume.

4. Which tax tasks does the service actually perform?

Tax language is scope-specific. A merchant-of-record claim is different from a checkout tool that calculates tax, and both are different from your responsibility to report income, maintain records, or handle taxes outside the stated jurisdictions. Save the exact wording and effective date of the terms you rely on.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

5. How much storefront and customer control do you need?

Check whether you can use your own domain, customize checkout, export customer and order data, connect an email system, add analytics, create bundles, and migrate later. Marketplace convenience may be worth the trade-off for discovery; a business built on repeat purchases may prefer direct ownership.

6. How much operational complexity can you handle?

Every additional control creates work: configuring products, domains, payment accounts, tax settings, delivery emails, access rules, backups, fraud controls, and support. Choose the simplest system that meets your next stage, not the most feature-rich dashboard you can find.

Platform-by-platform guide

Gumroad: simple pay-per-sale selling

Gumroad publishes no monthly charge. For sales through a creator profile or direct link, the captured pricing is 10% plus $0.50 per sale. A transaction attributed to Gumroad Discover is listed at 30%. That distinction matters: a buyer you send directly and a buyer acquired through Discover can produce very different net revenue.

The page lists digital products, ebooks, courses, tutorials, memberships, and SaaS subscriptions among supported offers. Gumroad also says it has handled all tax obligations as merchant of record since January 1, 2025. Treat that as the platform’s stated scope, then read the current merchant-of-record terms for your country, product category, refunds, and income-reporting responsibilities.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Best fit: creators who want a quick storefront and expect to drive direct traffic.
  • Watch: the 30% Discover charge can materially change margins; do not use the 10% figure for every order.
  • Verify: payout timing, currency conversion, prohibited products, subscription rules, and the current tax agreement.

Payhip: tiered pricing with a branded storefront

Payhip lists three tiers: Free Forever: $0 per month plus 5%; Plus: $29 per month plus 2%; and Pro: $99 per month with no Payhip transaction fee. Stripe or PayPal processing fees still apply on all tiers. The practical choice is therefore a break-even calculation, not simply “free versus paid.”

Payhip says it automatically collects and remits EU VAT and UK VAT for sellers, and says other taxes can be configured and reported. That statement does not establish worldwide tax handling. Confirm the jurisdictions, evidence, invoicing requirements, and your own filing duties before relying on it.

  • Best fit: creators who bring their own audience and want lower platform percentages as sales grow.
  • Watch: the monthly fee on Plus or Pro is owed even in a slow month; processor charges remain separate.
  • Verify: plan limits, payout schedules, checkout customization, digital-delivery controls, and the current tax documentation.

Lemon Squeezy: checkout with an automated-tax emphasis

Lemon Squeezy’s captured ecommerce pricing is 5% plus $0.50 per transaction, with no monthly ecommerce charge. Its page advertises fully automated sales-tax compliance. Before treating that as a blanket promise, check the detailed fee terms, exceptions, eligibility requirements, geographic coverage, and the definition of transactions that qualify.

  • Best fit: software and digital-product sellers who value a managed checkout and tax automation.
  • Watch: a fixed $0.50 has a larger percentage effect on low-priced products than on high-priced products.
  • Verify: subscriptions, refunds, chargebacks, payout currencies, approval requirements, and current tax coverage.

Stan: social-first storefront candidate

An October 6, 2026 comparison by Chris Tweten describes Stan as social-first and subscription-based, with no platform transaction fee; payment-processing fees may still apply. The exact official plan price and included features were not established in the available material, so do not use a guessed number in your budget.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

This model makes sense when your bio link, newsletter, or direct messages already generate demand. During a trial, check how many products, checkout pages, email integrations, memberships, and analytics features are included at your chosen tier. Ask whether the “no platform fee” statement excludes add-ons, payment processing, currency conversion, or higher-tier functions.

Shopify: broader ecommerce infrastructure

The comparison characterizes Shopify as a more customizable, full ecommerce system that requires more setup and cost than a simple creator checkout. The exact current plan details were not captured clearly enough to quote. Treat it as a candidate for an established creator who needs a broader storefront, multiple product types, integrations, and room to expand—not as a low-cost benchmark.

Before choosing it, price the full stack: subscription, payment processing, any external gateway charge, themes, apps, email, domain, and tax tools. Map the setup work as well as the monthly bill; a powerful store that you cannot maintain is not a good fit.

Podia: all-in-one creator suite candidate

Podia is described as combining products, courses, coaching, memberships, a website, and email tools. Current plan prices, transaction terms, and feature limits were not captured, so verify them directly. It may suit a creator who wants fewer separate systems, but compare the included email contacts, video hosting, product limits, checkout options, and migration tools against the actual offers you intend to launch.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Teachable: course-first option

The comparison presents Teachable as course-first, with support for coaching and downloads. The current official plan details were not captured sufficiently to quote. If structured lessons are your core product, evaluate the course authoring workflow, student access rules, assessments, completion tracking, coaching tools, payment options, and plan-dependent transaction fees. Do not assume a course-first platform is the cheapest way to sell a single download.

Etsy: marketplace discovery for searchable products

Etsy is described as a marketplace with searchable products and a possible fit for templates or printables. The available material does not establish its current seller fees or detailed digital-listing policy, so verify both before publishing a product. Marketplace discovery can reduce the amount of traffic you must generate yourself, but your listings compete inside Etsy’s search system and your branding and customer relationship are less controlled than on a seller-owned storefront.

Check file-size and format rules, intellectual-property policies, customer-messaging limits, payout timing, listing renewal charges, advertising options, and what customer information you can export. Build those constraints into your support process before uploading a large catalog.

Kajabi: premium creator-platform candidate pending verification

Kajabi appeared in creator-platform coverage, but the available material does not provide enough verified current pricing or feature detail for a specific recommendation. If you are considering it, compare its actual course, membership, email, website, automation, contact, and product limits with the cost of assembling separate tools. Require a written total for the plan, payment fees, migration, and any add-ons before committing.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Your own website and checkout stack: maximum control, maximum responsibility

A self-managed storefront is the tenth path in this guide, not a single vendor. You control the domain, design, analytics, customer database, integrations, and migration timetable. You also own every operational task: hosting, security updates, checkout integration, digital delivery, fraud prevention, tax configuration, refunds, accessibility, backups, and support.

This route is usually justified when your audience and revenue can support ongoing maintenance or when platform lock-in is a serious business risk. Write a requirements document first; otherwise “control” can become a collection of fragile systems that fails during a launch.

Fee math: compare the same order before you choose

The following examples show only the platform portion of a $20 order. They exclude card or wallet processing, tax, refunds, currency conversion, and any monthly subscription allocation. They use the fee claims captured from official pages on October 13, 2026; prices can change.

Option Published platform charge Platform portion on a $20 order What is not included
Gumroad direct/profile 10% + $0.50 $2.50 Processing, tax, refunds, currency conversion
Gumroad Discover 30% per transaction $6.00 Any terms not specified in the captured summary
Payhip Free Forever 5% $1.00 Stripe or PayPal processing and other taxes
Payhip Plus 2% plus $29 monthly $0.40 plus the monthly subscription Stripe or PayPal processing
Payhip Pro No Payhip transaction fee plus $99 monthly $0 plus the monthly subscription Stripe or PayPal processing
Lemon Squeezy 5% + $0.50 $1.50 Exceptions, processing details, tax scope, refunds
Stan, Shopify, Podia, Teachable, Etsy, Kajabi, own stack Not stated in the captured evidence Not stated Check current plan, processor, listing, app, and hosting costs

For Payhip, the monthly break-even depends on your average order value and monthly order count. Compare Free: 5% of sales with Plus: $29 + 2% of sales, and compare Pro only after estimating whether eliminating the platform percentage offsets $99 each month. Keep processor fees in a separate line because Payhip explicitly says they still apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Tax, payouts, and legal checks

Merchant of record is not a universal tax exemption

Gumroad’s page says it has handled all tax obligations as merchant of record since January 1, 2025. Payhip’s page specifically names automatic collection and remittance for EU and UK VAT, while Lemon Squeezy advertises automated sales-tax compliance. These are different claims with different scopes. Read the current agreement for the countries where you sell and live, then ask an accountant about income tax, business registration, records, and obligations outside checkout taxes.

Confirm the money path

  • Which payment methods can buyers use in your target countries?
  • How long does a payout remain pending?
  • Who absorbs chargebacks, refunds, and currency-conversion costs?
  • Can you export order, tax, and customer records?
  • What happens to subscriptions if the platform suspends your account?

Keep evidence for every filing period

Save invoices, payout reports, refund records, tax reports, and the terms in force when each sale occurred. A platform’s tax automation can simplify checkout without replacing your record-keeping duties.

Launch checklist for any platform

  1. Define the offer: write the product format, price, file size, delivery method, refund policy, and whether access expires.
  2. Model three volumes: calculate net revenue at a slow month, expected month, and launch month using platform, processor, subscription, tax, and refund costs.
  3. Test checkout: place a real or sandbox order, download the files, test mobile screens, and confirm confirmation emails and access revocation.
  4. Configure tax and business details: enter your legal seller information, payout account, tax settings, invoices, and required disclosures.
  5. Connect acquisition: add your social bio link, email campaign, website button, analytics, and a backup way to reach buyers.
  6. Document support: prepare answers for download problems, duplicate purchases, failed payments, refunds, and account access.
  7. Plan portability: schedule regular exports of products, orders, customers, and email subscribers where the terms allow it.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

Choosing a platform because its percentage is lowest

A zero or low platform percentage can hide a monthly subscription, processor charge, app cost, marketplace listing fee, or expensive migration. Use the same order-value and volume assumptions for every candidate.

Assuming “tax handled” means every tax is handled

Ask which jurisdictions, transaction types, registrations, filings, invoices, and reporting statements are covered. Keep your own records and obtain professional advice for obligations outside the platform’s stated scope.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Confusing discovery with ownership

Marketplace search can bring first-time buyers, but algorithm changes and listing rules are outside your control. A seller-led storefront requires more marketing but can support a direct, repeat-purchase relationship. Many creators use a marketplace to test demand and a direct channel for long-term customers; verify that your product licenses and platform terms permit your intended distribution.

Ignoring low-ticket economics

Fixed charges such as $0.50 consume a larger share of a $5 product than a $50 product. If your catalog is inexpensive, consider bundles, higher-value versions, or a platform with a fee structure that fits your average order.

Launching without a recovery plan

Export what you can, keep original files and customer-support records, and know how you would notify buyers if a product URL, payment account, or platform account became unavailable. Do not assume migration will preserve subscriptions, download history, or customer consent.

A practical decision sequence

  1. Start with the product: choose file delivery, course delivery, memberships, coaching, software subscriptions, or a mixed catalog.
  2. Identify the traffic source: marketplace search, social and email links, existing website traffic, or a combination.
  3. Shortlist two models: one low-complexity option and one higher-control option.
  4. Calculate net revenue: use your actual price, expected order count, processor, tax, refunds, and monthly subscription.
  5. Audit control: check branding, domains, data export, integrations, customer communication, and migration.
  6. Run a test launch: sell to a small audience, monitor support time and failed checkouts, then reassess before adding more products.

Use the October 2026 vendor descriptions as orientation, not as a permanent ranking. The strongest fee evidence here is for Gumroad, Payhip, and Lemon Squeezy; exact current plans for Stan, Shopify, Podia, Teachable, Etsy, and Kajabi must be checked immediately before purchase.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.