iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The Galaxy A17 5G is the best low-cost choice for long-term updates in the United States. Samsung announced it at a $199.99 starting price with six generations of Android and One UI upgrades plus six years of security updates. That is the clearest combination of low price and an explicit support term.
Galaxy A26 5G, A36 5G and A56 5G also carry Samsung’s six-generation/six-year language for their lineup, while the newer A27, A37 and A57 are currently listed in Samsung’s U.S. store. Prices, storage, carrier compatibility and support wording vary by exact model and region, so check the specific unlocked or carrier SKU before paying.
The short answer
If your priority is the longest clearly stated support at the lowest U.S. price, start with the Galaxy A17 5G. Samsung Electronics America announced U.S. availability beginning January 7, 2026, with a $199.99 starting price. The announcement specifies six years of security updates and six generations of Android and One UI upgrades.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The A17 is not automatically the best phone for every buyer. Its announced configuration has 4 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage, although storage can be expanded with a microSD card. A buyer who needs more memory, a larger display or stronger water resistance may prefer the A26 or A36, provided the higher price fits the budget. The A56 and the newer A37 and A57 cost more and are better treated as upper mid-range options rather than strict budget phones.
#1 Best Overall
- PRIVACY DISPLAY: Automatically hide your screen from those beside you. The built-in privacy display can be preset¹ to turn on when receiving notifications, typing passwords, or using specific apps
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist² with Galaxy AI.³ Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- NIGHTS, CAPTURED CLEARLY: From gigs to city lights, record and capture moments after dark with clarity using Nightography so your photos and videos stay crisp and clear on your Samsung Galaxy
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile phone, whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more⁴
- HELP THAT KEEPS UP: Stay in the moment while Now Nudge with Galaxy AI helps you respond faster and stay organized with smart suggestions⁵ that appear exactly when you need them on your phone
What “long-term updates” actually means
Operating-system and interface upgrades
An Android or One UI “generation” is a major software release covered by Samsung’s promise. Six generations does not mean six updates delivered on a fixed monthly schedule, and it does not guarantee that every regional variant receives releases on the same day. Samsung’s wording establishes the duration of the commitment, not a rollout calendar.
Security updates
Security support is separate from major-version upgrades. Samsung describes six years of security updates for the A17 and for the A-series models covered by its six-year announcement. The statement does not establish that patches will arrive every month throughout that period. Delivery can depend on region, carrier approval and model variant.
When the clock starts
Support is tied to the product’s release and Samsung’s support policy, not to the date you personally buy the phone. A phone purchased late in its sales cycle may have fewer years remaining than a newly launched model with a similar promise. Check the launch timing and Samsung’s current support information for the exact SKU before treating a headline number as your remaining ownership period.
Best budget models, ranked
1. Galaxy A17 5G — best low-price update pick
The A17 5G is the strongest answer to “What is the cheapest Samsung Galaxy phone with six years of updates?” based on Samsung’s U.S. announcement. Its $199.99 starting price was announced for January 2026 U.S. sales; it is a dated launch figure rather than a guarantee of the price you will see today.
- Update commitment: six years of security updates and six generations of Android and One UI upgrades, according to Samsung Electronics America’s December 30, 2025 announcement.
- Announced configuration: 4 GB RAM and 128 GB storage, with microSD expansion.
- Protection: IP54 protection and Corning Gorilla Glass Victus on the front, according to Samsung’s specifications.
- Best for: buyers who want an explicit long-support term while keeping the purchase price near $200.
The 4 GB memory configuration is the main reason to compare the A17 with the A26 or A36 before ordering. It may be adequate for ordinary calls, messaging, streaming and light multitasking, but memory and storage should be part of your decision if you keep many apps or large media libraries. No independent performance or aging test establishes how fast the A17 will feel near the end of its support period.
Rank #2
- YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
- LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
- MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
- NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
- BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.
2. Galaxy A26 5G — a sensible step up when the budget allows
Samsung’s A26 5G launch announcement lists a $299.99 U.S. starting price, a 6 GB/128 GB configuration and the same six-generation Android OS and One UI upgrade language with six years of security updates for the A-series family. The March 2026 U.S. MSRP file also lists an unlocked A26 at $299.99, while noting that some A26 stock-keeping units are marked end of life.
The A26 is therefore a reasonable alternative when you want more specified memory than the A17 and can spend about $100 more at the stated launch price. Confirm that the listing is for the current U.S. 5G model, that the storage configuration matches your needs and that the particular SKU still has the advertised support term. The available evidence does not establish independent speed, battery-aging or camera results.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →3. Galaxy A36 5G — feature-rich mid-budget option
The A36 5G launched in the United States at $399.99, with Samsung describing six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades and six years of security updates for the lineup. Samsung’s announcement lists 6 GB/128 GB for the A36, a 6.7-inch FHD+ Super AMOLED display, a 5,000 mAh typical battery and IP67 water and dust resistance.
Those are manufacturer specifications, not laboratory findings about endurance or durability. The A36 makes sense if a larger display, the listed protection rating and a larger battery are worth paying roughly twice the A17’s announced starting price. It is no longer a bare-minimum budget purchase, so compare the total price against your expected years of use.
4. Galaxy A56 5G — longest-lived choice in a higher price tier
Samsung announced the A56 5G at a $499.99 U.S. starting price and included it in the six-generation Android/One UI and six-year security-update statement. The published specifications include a 6.7-inch FHD+ Super AMOLED display, a 5,000 mAh typical battery and IP67 water and dust resistance. Samsung later announced U.S. availability, including an Amazon-exclusive color; color and inventory are not guaranteed to remain available.
Rank #3
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
- FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
- IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
- FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
The A56 can be attractive when you plan to keep one phone for many years and want the higher-tier hardware, but its price makes it a poor default answer for a strict budget. The support promise alone does not prove that it will remain faster, more repairable or better value than a less expensive model over time.
5. Galaxy A27 5G — current listing, support details to verify
A Samsung U.S. all-smartphones page captured in 2026 displayed the A27 5G at $304.99. That is a live-store snapshot and may reflect a promotion or selected configuration. The available announcement material in this comparison does not verify the A27’s exact U.S. support commitment or detailed specifications.
Consider the A27 only after opening the product page for your exact region and checking Samsung’s stated Android/One UI and security terms. A current model is not automatically a better long-term purchase than an older model with a clearly documented commitment.
6. Galaxy A37 5G and A57 5G — longer-support options above a strict budget
Samsung’s March 2026 announcement says the A37 5G and A57 5G offer “up to six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades, along with up to six years of security updates.” Samsung’s U.S. store page displayed $489.99 for the A37 and $599.99 for the A57 when captured.
The phrase up to matters: it is Samsung’s qualification and should not be converted into an unconditional guarantee for every regional variant. At the displayed prices, both models sit well above the A17’s budget level. Choose one only if its additional hardware and remaining support term justify the higher total cost.
Rank #4
- YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
- LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
- MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
- NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
- BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.
Price and support comparison
The figures below are U.S. references from different dates. Launch prices and MSRP are not the same as a current sale price, and the store figures can change without notice.
| Model | U.S. price evidence | Stated update support | Published configuration or features |
|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy A17 5G | $199.99 announced starting price for January 7, 2026 availability; $199.99 unlocked MSRP in the March 2026 file; current store price not stated | Six generations of Android and One UI upgrades; six years of security updates | 4 GB RAM, 128 GB storage, microSD expansion, IP54, Gorilla Glass Victus front |
| Galaxy A16 5G | $169.99 unlocked MSRP in the March 2026 file | Not stated in the cited materials | Exact U.S. configuration not stated |
| Galaxy A26 5G | $299.99 launch starting price; $299.99 unlocked MSRP in the March 2026 file; some SKUs marked EOL | Six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades and six years of security updates for the announced A-series lineup | 6 GB RAM/128 GB storage listed for the announcement |
| Galaxy A36 5G | $399.99 launch starting price; $399.99 unlocked MSRP in the March 2026 file; some SKUs marked EOL | Six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades and six years of security updates for the announced A-series lineup | 6 GB/128 GB listed; 6.7-inch FHD+ Super AMOLED; 5,000 mAh typical battery; IP67 |
| Galaxy A56 5G | $499.99 launch starting price; $499.99 unlocked MSRP in the March 2026 file; some SKUs marked EOL | Six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades and six years of security updates for the announced A-series lineup | 6.7-inch FHD+ Super AMOLED; 5,000 mAh typical battery; IP67 |
| Galaxy A27 5G | $304.99 displayed on Samsung’s U.S. store page when captured; volatile snapshot | Exact U.S. commitment not verified in the cited materials | Detailed U.S. specifications not stated |
| Galaxy A37 5G | $489.99 displayed on Samsung’s U.S. store page when captured; volatile snapshot | Up to six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades and up to six years of security updates | Detailed specifications not stated |
| Galaxy A57 5G | $599.99 displayed on Samsung’s U.S. store page when captured; volatile snapshot | Up to six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades and up to six years of security updates | Detailed specifications not stated |
The A16’s lower MSRP does not make it the best update-focused bargain because the cited materials do not establish a comparable support commitment. Likewise, an older A26, A36 or A56 marked end of life may offer less remaining support or be harder to find in the configuration you want.
How to choose the right model
Set a total-cost ceiling
Start with the amount you can spend on the phone, not the number of years in a headline. A $199.99 A17 that meets your needs can be better value than a $599.99 A57, even if both have long support language. Include sales tax, activation charges, accessories and any carrier financing when comparing totals.
Match memory and storage to your use
The A17 announcement specifies 4 GB/128 GB, while the A26 and A36 announcements list 6 GB/128 GB. Storage can vary by market and SKU. Check the product page for RAM, internal storage, microSD support and the amount of space consumed by the operating system. More storage does not prove faster performance, but it can reduce the need to delete photos or uninstall apps during a long ownership period.
Recommended Free Tools
Value protection features correctly
IP54 on the A17 and IP67 on the A36 and A56 are published protection ratings. They describe test conditions for dust and water ingress; they are not a promise that a dropped or salt-water-exposed phone will survive. A case, careful charging and prompt drying after exposure still matter.
Best Value
- Please note, this device does not support E-SIM; This 4G model is compatible with all GSM networks worldwide outside of the U.S. In the US, ONLY compatible with T-Mobile and their MVNO's (Metro and Standup). It will NOT work with other CDMA carriers, and it is also not compatible with their MVNO (Visible, Xfinity Mobile, US Mobile, Cricket Wireless, etc).
- Compatibility with certain third-party devices and accessibility accessories, including some hearing aids, may vary depending on manufacturer support, Bluetooth protocols, software compatibility, and regional firmware limitations. For additional hearing aid compatibility information, please refer to Samsung’s official support documentation.
- Camera: 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 2 MP, f/2.4, (macro). Battery: 5000 mAh, non-removable | A power adapter is NOT included.
Check display and battery priorities
The A36 and A56 have the announced 6.7-inch FHD+ Super AMOLED displays and 5,000 mAh typical batteries. Those specifications may suit users who watch video or prefer a large screen, but they do not establish real-world battery life. If a compact phone, lower weight or a lower purchase price matters more, the A17 or A26 may be a better fit.
Verify network and regional compatibility
“Galaxy A17 5G” or another model name is not enough to prove compatibility with your carrier. Confirm the exact U.S. unlocked or carrier SKU, supported 5G and LTE bands, eSIM or physical-SIM requirements, VoLTE support and whether the seller permits activation on your network. Regional variants can have different availability and support schedules.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Checklist before you buy
- Open the manufacturer or carrier listing and record the full model number, storage, RAM and network version.
- Read the support statement for that exact region. Preserve Samsung’s wording if it says “up to,” and distinguish Android/One UI generations from security-update years.
- Compare the current checkout price with the dated launch or MSRP figures. Treat a sale price as temporary and check whether the phone is new, refurbished or open-box.
- Check the phone’s release timing and estimate how much of the promised support period remains at your purchase date.
- Confirm carrier bands, SIM format, financing conditions, return window and warranty coverage.
- After delivery, install the latest available update, enable automatic updates and register the device so you can receive security notices.
What the update promise does not guarantee
- Instant releases: Samsung’s stated duration does not specify monthly delivery or simultaneous rollout across carriers and countries.
- Unchanged performance: Six years of software support does not prove that a 4 GB phone will feel as responsive after every major release.
- Unlimited storage: A long support term does not add internal capacity. Plan for photos, offline video and app growth.
- Repair availability: The cited announcements do not establish parts pricing, repairability or battery-replacement access for the full support period.
- Identical regional treatment: Model suffixes, carrier firmware and market-specific configurations can change features and timing.
- A fixed end date: “Six years” or “up to six years” is a policy statement, not a specific end-of-support date for every SKU.
Common buying mistakes and fixes
Choosing the cheapest MSRP without checking support
The A16 has the lowest listed unlocked MSRP in the March 2026 file at $169.99, but the cited materials do not state a six-year commitment for it. Fix: treat the A17 as the lower-cost baseline when an explicit support term is the deciding factor, then verify the A16 independently if its price is compelling.
Assuming a newer model always has a better promise
The A27 appears on the current U.S. store page at $304.99, yet its exact support commitment was not established in the available announcement material. Fix: read the support language for the exact model rather than inferring it from the product’s year or price.
Mixing launch prices with today’s offers
A $199.99 launch price, a $299.99 MSRP and a store promotion are different facts. Fix: label every price by date and type, and recheck inventory and configuration immediately before publication or purchase.
Buying an end-of-life SKU for a discount
The March 2026 MSRP file marks some A26, A36 and A56 SKUs EOL. Fix: confirm that the exact model is still sold through an authorized channel and determine how much support remains before accepting a clearance discount.
Ignoring the carrier contract
A low monthly installment can hide activation fees, a required plan or a lock period. Fix: compare the total of all installments and fees with the unlocked price, and verify the phone’s unlock policy.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Decision guide
- Spend as little as possible and want a documented long term: choose the Galaxy A17 5G after confirming the current price and carrier compatibility.
- Want more specified memory for around $300: compare the Galaxy A26 5G, checking availability and the exact support statement for the SKU.
- Want a larger AMOLED display, 5,000 mAh typical battery and IP67: consider the Galaxy A36 5G if the roughly $400 launch-tier price fits your budget.
- Want a higher-tier A-series phone and can spend about $500 or more: evaluate the Galaxy A56, A37 or A57, but calculate whether the additional hardware justifies the higher total cost.
- Considering the A16 or A27 because of a lower price: buy only after independently confirming their support terms, configuration and remaining availability.
Bottom line
The Galaxy A17 5G is the clearest budget recommendation for U.S. buyers who put software longevity first: Samsung announced it at $199.99 with six Android/One UI generations and six years of security updates. The A26 is the next logical comparison, while the A36 and A56 add larger-screen and protection specifications at substantially higher launch prices. The A27, A37 and A57 are current-store alternatives, but their support wording and price positioning require closer model-by-model verification. Buy the exact regional SKU, distinguish “up to” from unconditional language, and judge the phone’s remaining support and hardware—not the headline promise alone.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

