What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Acer Aspire Go 15 is a value candidate for everyday college work, while the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 is another budget option. Neither is a universal winner: the right choice depends on the exact configuration, your coursework, and the price available in your market.

What makes a budget laptop suitable for college?

For writing papers, researching online, working in browser-based course platforms, and streaming entertainment, an affordable laptop can be enough. More demanding work—such as engineering applications, creative editing, software development, or games—may require stronger performance, more memory, or dedicated graphics. Check the software and hardware requirements for your courses before choosing a machine; an editorial “best budget” label does not establish that a laptop will run every course application well.

Compare the exact model and configuration, not just the product-family name. Screen size, memory, storage, processor, ports, and battery claims can differ among laptops sold under the same family name.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which budget college laptops are worth considering?

Acer Aspire Go 15: a value candidate for everyday tasks

Save the Student’s 2026 student guide labels the Aspire Go 15 “Value for money,” and TechRadar names it its “best budget Windows laptop.” These are editorial recommendations, not the outcome of a controlled head-to-head test. TechRadar describes Aspire Go 15 configurations ranging up to Intel Core 7, 32 GB of RAM, and 1 TB of storage, but those family-level options do not describe every model.

A specific US configuration, Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-21PT-R9TL, has Windows 11 Home, a Ryzen 3 processor, 8 GB LPDDR5 memory, a 256 GB SSD, and a 15.6-inch Full HD 1920 × 1080 IPS touchscreen. Acer listed it at $599.99 on its US product page when accessed in 2026. The specifications and price apply to that SKU and market, not to every Aspire Go 15. See Acer’s US listing for AG15-21PT-R9TL.

Acer states a maximum battery runtime of 17 hours for that listed configuration. This is the manufacturer’s claim, not an independently measured result; do not assume it represents typical use or applies to other configurations. TechRadar separately reports 11 hours 55 minutes for its Aspire Go 15 family recommendation, but the recommendation page excerpt does not give the test protocol. That result should not be transferred to the AG15-21PT-R9TL. TechRadar also notes everyday performance and a range of physical ports as strengths, with display and build quality limitations and no dedicated graphics. Read TechRadar’s Aspire Go 15 recommendation.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3: a budget alternative

Save the Student’s 2026 guide places the IdeaPad Slim 3 in its budget category. Its selected listing is described with a 14-inch screen, 8 GB of RAM, 128 GB of eMMC storage, and battery life of up to 11 hours; the guide lists a UK price snapshot of £379. These details and price describe the guide’s selected listing, not every IdeaPad Slim 3, and the price may change week to week. Confirm the exact SKU, seller, and current specifications in your market before buying. See Save the Student’s 2026 student laptop guide.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Dell Inspiron 15 3520: not a current new-laptop pick

Dell’s US product page marks the Inspiron 15 3520 as discontinued and says it is no longer available. It may still appear in used or refurbished listings, but those listings need their own checks for condition, seller, warranty, and price. Check Dell’s US product page.

How do the listed candidates compare?

Candidate and source context Screen Memory and storage Battery information Price snapshot
Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-21PT-R9TL, Acer US listing accessed in 2026 15.6-inch Full HD IPS touchscreen 8 GB LPDDR5; 256 GB SSD Acer maximum claim: 17 hours; not independently tested $599.99, Acer Store US listing accessed in 2026
Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3, Save the Student’s selected UK listing in its 2026 guide 14-inch; resolution and panel type not stated by Save the Student 8 GB RAM; 128 GB eMMC Up to 11 hours, as listed by Save the Student £379, Save the Student’s UK price snapshot in 2026
Dell Inspiron 15 3520, Dell US page Not stated on the cited page excerpt Not stated on the cited page excerpt Not stated on the cited page excerpt Discontinued; Dell says it is no longer available

The listed prices are from different markets, sellers, configurations, and source pages, so they are not a like-for-like price comparison. A UK guide’s price for its selected laptop listing cannot be directly compared with Acer’s US price for a specifically identified SKU.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What should you check before buying?

Match the laptop to course software

Start with the applications your courses require. Browser-based learning, note-taking, research, and document editing are different demands from 3D design, video work, or engineering software. Verify the software’s published requirements against the exact processor, memory, and graphics configuration you plan to buy.

Check memory, storage, and upgrade options

Confirm how much memory and storage the specific listing includes, and whether either can be upgraded. Upgradeability is not verified for every candidate covered here. Also consider whether the listed storage capacity suits your files and applications; eMMC storage and an SSD are different storage types, not interchangeable labels.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Assess portability, screen, and input

A 14-inch display may be easier to carry than a 15.6-inch one, but the cited listings do not provide enough comparable weight information to rank these models by portability. Check the exact laptop’s weight, screen resolution and panel type, keyboard, and touch support. Resolution alone does not establish overall image quality. A touchscreen is useful only if it fits how you work.

Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

Interpret battery claims cautiously

Battery runtime depends on the configuration and how the laptop is used. Distinguish a manufacturer’s maximum claim from an independently tested result, and check whether any test applies to the SKU you are considering. The Acer US figure and the TechRadar family-level result refer to different evidence and should not be treated as a single apples-to-apples comparison.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15

Verify seller, price, ports, and warranty

  • Check the exact SKU and current price in your country, including taxes and shipping where relevant; retail prices and availability can change.
  • Review the seller’s return policy and the warranty terms for your region.
  • Confirm that the ports you need are present on the exact configuration, rather than relying on a product-family description.
  • For a used or refurbished laptop, assess its condition, seller, warranty, and price separately from a new model.

How to make the choice

  1. Write down the software and workload your courses require, including any graphics-heavy applications.
  2. Set a budget in your local currency and compare current listings from sellers in your market.
  3. Match each listing’s exact SKU to its processor, memory, storage, screen, ports, and any upgrade options.
  4. Compare battery evidence and portability using information that applies to the configuration being sold.
  5. Choose the configuration that meets your actual course needs without paying for specifications you will not use.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.