Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Betterment Digital and Wealthfront are the closest like-for-like alternatives to Schwab Intelligent Portfolios; both are listed at a 0.25% advisory fee and include tax-loss harvesting. Vanguard Digital Advisor is the quality-led choice in Morningstar’s 2025 assessment, while Fidelity Go is particularly compelling for balances below $25,000 because its listed advisory fee is zero at that tier. E*TRADE Core Portfolios is a reasonable fit for existing E*TRADE or Morgan Stanley customers.

Schwab remains unusually inexpensive on the surface: it requires $5,000 to open, charges no advisory fee or commission, and automatically monitors and rebalances diversified ETF portfolios. That does not make it cost-free. ETF operating expenses, the return on cash held in Schwab Bank deposits, and the program’s revenue arrangements all affect the economic result. The right replacement depends on your balance, taxable-account needs, desired portfolio design, and whether you value human advice or an existing brokerage relationship.

At a glance: which alternative fits which investor?

Provider Advisory fee information Minimum or tier information Tax-loss harvesting Morningstar 2025 assessment Best fit
Schwab Intelligent Portfolios No advisory fee or commissions, according to Schwab’s current product FAQ (accessed 2026); ETF operating expenses still apply. $5,000 minimum to open (Schwab FAQ, accessed 2026). Available for enrolled taxable portfolios with at least $50,000; no separate activation fee. Above Average; assessment data as of Dec. 31, 2024. Investors who want automated rebalancing without a stated advisory fee and are comfortable evaluating the cash allocation.
Betterment Digital 0.25% advisory fee, according to Schwab’s competitor comparison dated Dec. 1, 2025. Current minimum not stated in the cited comparison; verify before opening. Listed as available by Schwab’s comparison. Above Average; data as of Dec. 31, 2024. Goal-based planning and automated tax tools.
Wealthfront 0.25% advisory fee, according to Schwab’s competitor comparison dated Dec. 1, 2025. Current minimum not stated in the cited comparison; verify before opening. Listed as available by Schwab’s comparison. Above Average; data as of Dec. 31, 2024. A digital-first experience with automated tax management.
Vanguard Digital Advisor Current fee not stated in the cited evidence. Current minimum not stated in the cited evidence. Not stated in the cited evidence. High, one of only two programs receiving that overall assessment (including Vanguard Personal Advisor Services). Investors prioritizing Vanguard’s investment ecosystem and independent quality evidence.
Fidelity Go No advisory fee below $25,000; 0.35% annually at $25,000 or more (Schwab comparison, Dec. 1, 2025). Fee changes at $25,000. Not stated in the cited comparison. Above Average; data as of Dec. 31, 2024. Beginners and existing Fidelity customers with smaller balances.
E*TRADE Core Portfolios 0.30% advisory fee (Schwab comparison, Dec. 1, 2025). Current minimum not stated in the cited evidence. Added tax-loss harvesting, according to Morningstar’s 2025 report. Average; disclosure of the funds used also improved. Investors already using E*TRADE or Morgan Stanley brokerage services.

Fees and features can change. The figures in the table retain the dates and conditions attached to the cited sources; confirm current terms, account eligibility and minimums directly with a provider before transferring money.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What Schwab Intelligent Portfolios actually provides

Schwab Intelligent Portfolios is a goal-based robo-advisor. After you answer questions about objectives, time horizon and risk tolerance, its system selects a diversified ETF allocation, monitors it daily and rebalances automatically. Schwab says there are more than 80 portfolio variations built from about 50 ETFs covering stocks, bonds, commodities and cash.

Risk and strategy choices

The standard risk scale has six profiles, from Conservative through Aggressive Growth. You can also select Global, U.S.-Focused or Income-Focused strategies. Those labels change the portfolio’s intended exposure; they do not turn the service into a customized human financial plan.

Where the apparent zero fee stops

Schwab states: “There is no advisory fee or commissions charged for Schwab Intelligent Portfolios.” ETF operating expenses remain embedded in the funds. Schwab also discloses that a portion of each portfolio is placed in FDIC-insured Schwab Bank deposits. The program earns revenue from cash, affiliated and third-party ETFs, and order routing. Schwab warns that some cash alternatives outside the program may pay a higher yield, so the cash allocation is an important part of a cost comparison rather than a footnote.

Tax-loss harvesting eligibility

Tax-loss harvesting is available only for taxable portfolios with at least $50,000 when the client enrolls. Schwab says there is no additional charge to activate it. Retirement accounts do not receive the same tax benefit because losses in those accounts generally are not reported in the way taxable-account losses are.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the leading alternatives differ

Betterment Digital

Betterment is the closest fit when your main reason for leaving Schwab is a stronger goal-planning workflow. Schwab’s Dec. 1, 2025 comparison lists a 0.25% advisory fee and tax-loss harvesting. The cited material does not establish a current minimum, account-type lineup or referral terms, so verify those details for your specific taxable, individual-retirement or joint-account situation.

Choose this route when you want separate goals—such as an emergency reserve, a home purchase and retirement—to drive the presentation of one automated plan. Compare the fee against Schwab’s ETF expenses and cash yield, not against Schwab’s advisory fee alone.

Wealthfront

Wealthfront is another close substitute for investors who prefer a digital-first service and automated tax management. Schwab’s comparison lists a 0.25% advisory fee and tax-loss harvesting. Current minimums, supported account types and referral terms were not established in the cited material, so check the live disclosures before moving assets.

It is most suitable if you are comfortable making decisions through an app and want tax automation to be a central feature. If you need a human adviser to discuss insurance, concentrated stock or a complicated estate, a robo-only workflow may not address the real problem.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Vanguard Digital Advisor

Vanguard Digital Advisor stands out on independent quality evidence. Morningstar’s 2025 Robo-Advisor Report says Vanguard Digital Advisor and Vanguard Personal Advisor Services “once again received the only High overall assessment” among the programs reviewed. The report’s assessment data are as of Dec. 31, 2024.

That rating is not a promise of higher returns. It reflects Morningstar’s evaluation framework, not a personalized recommendation. The cited evidence does not state Vanguard Digital Advisor’s current fee, minimum, tax-loss-harvesting rules or account-type availability, so obtain those terms before comparing an actual transfer. Vanguard is a logical candidate if you value its fund ecosystem, long-term indexing culture and a quality assessment that is stronger than the Above Average ratings assigned to Schwab, Betterment, Wealthfront and Fidelity Go.

Fidelity Go

Fidelity Go is particularly relevant for a small starting balance or for someone who already holds other assets at Fidelity. Schwab’s Dec. 1, 2025 comparison lists no advisory fee below $25,000 and 0.35% annually at $25,000 or more. Morningstar rated it Above Average using data through Dec. 31, 2024.

The fee breakpoint deserves a forward-looking check. A balance that begins below $25,000 can cross the threshold through contributions and market growth, changing the economics of the account. Model the fee at the balance you expect in one, three and five years rather than using only today’s figure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

E*TRADE Core Portfolios

E*TRADE Core Portfolios can simplify administration when your banking, brokerage and workplace assets already sit within the E*TRADE or Morgan Stanley ecosystem. Schwab’s comparison lists a 0.30% advisory fee. Morningstar’s 2025 report says E*TRADE added tax-loss harvesting and improved disclosure of the funds it uses, which raised its overall assessment to Average.

Its relationship advantage may outweigh a modest fee difference if consolidating accounts makes contributions, statements and withdrawals easier. If you are moving solely for investment quality, compare its fund lineup, cash treatment and tax tools against the alternatives rather than assuming an affiliated brokerage automatically provides a better portfolio.

Compare the total cost, not just the advertised advisory fee

Use a three-layer cost model for every candidate:

  1. Advisory fee: the percentage charged for portfolio management. Schwab’s stated advisory fee is zero; the comparison lists 0.25% for Betterment and Wealthfront, 0.35% for Fidelity Go at $25,000 or more, and 0.30% for E*TRADE Core Portfolios.
  2. Fund expenses: ETF or mutual-fund operating expenses are deducted inside the funds and reduce returns even when the advisory fee is zero. Request the current weighted expense ratio for the portfolio you would receive.
  3. Cash economics: identify how much is held in cash or deposit accounts, what yield applies, and whether the robo-advisor keeps a spread or other revenue. Schwab specifically discloses revenue from cash, affiliated and third-party ETFs, and order routing, and notes that outside cash alternatives may pay more.

For a simple illustration, a 0.25% advisory fee on $40,000 is $100 per year before fund expenses and taxes. That arithmetic is not a forecast of any provider’s total cost; your balance, portfolio mix and changing fee schedule determine the actual amount. Ask each provider for a dollar estimate at your expected balance.

Tax-loss harvesting: when it matters and what to verify

Tax-loss harvesting sells an investment that has fallen below its tax basis and replaces it with a sufficiently different holding, creating a realized loss that may offset gains under applicable tax rules. The replacement must respect wash-sale restrictions, including purchases in other accounts that you control. Harvesting can reduce a current tax bill, but it does not create a guaranteed economic gain; the replacement investment can perform differently, and taxes may be deferred rather than eliminated.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Schwab’s published threshold

Schwab’s current FAQ says taxable portfolios must have at least $50,000 and the client must enroll. There is no separate fee for activating the feature. If your taxable balance is below that level, do not assume the feature will run automatically.

Questions for every alternative

  • Is harvesting available in individual, joint and trust taxable accounts, or only in selected registrations?
  • Is there a minimum balance, and is it measured per account or across the household?
  • Does the system monitor all accounts at the provider to avoid wash sales?
  • Can you disable harvesting for a particular goal or security?
  • How are harvested losses reported on your tax documents?

The cited comparison confirms harvesting for Betterment and Wealthfront, and Morningstar confirms that E*TRADE added it. It does not establish equivalent thresholds or account rules for those services, nor does it establish availability for Vanguard Digital Advisor or Fidelity Go. Obtain written current terms before treating a feature as comparable.

Portfolio design and risk: look past the brand name

Schwab’s range—about 50 ETFs across stocks, bonds, commodities and cash, with six risk profiles and three strategy orientations—gives it broad preset coverage. Alternatives can use different asset classes, fund families, rebalancing bands and cash targets. Two portfolios carrying the same “moderate” label can therefore have different equity percentages, interest-rate exposure and expected volatility.

Ask for the actual target allocation, not just the risk label. Compare:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • U.S. versus international stock exposure.
  • Investment-grade, high-yield and government-bond allocations.
  • Whether commodities or other diversifiers are included.
  • Strategic cash percentage and the instrument holding it.
  • How often the system rebalances and what threshold triggers a trade.
  • Whether you can impose exclusions or restrictions on individual securities.

Do not choose a portfolio solely because Morningstar rated the provider High or Above Average. The assessment is a useful quality signal, while your required allocation determines whether the service fits your financial plan.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Human help, account access and transfers

Robo-advisor comparisons often focus on fees and omit operational friction. Before opening a replacement account, confirm support hours, escalation to a licensed professional, beneficiary controls, automatic deposits, withdrawal timing, margin availability and the exact account registrations supported. The cited evidence does not provide a complete, current feature matrix for those items, so they must be checked in each provider’s account agreement.

Prepare for an in-kind or cash transfer

  1. Inventory the Schwab account. Record taxable or retirement registration, cost basis, unrealized gains and losses, beneficiaries, recurring deposits and any positions that are not standard ETFs.
  2. Ask the receiving provider what it can accept. A robo-advisor may require liquidation of unsupported securities. In a taxable account, a sale can realize gains; in a retirement account, transfer rules and deadlines differ.
  3. Download statements and tax records. Keep confirmations, year-to-date income information and cost-basis records before initiating the move.
  4. Compare cash treatment during the transition. A transfer can leave assets uninvested temporarily. Ask who controls the timing, whether fractional shares are liquidated and how proceeds are handled.
  5. Submit the correct transfer form. Use a direct trustee-to-trustee process for eligible retirement transfers when applicable. Do not withdraw retirement money to your bank account unless you have confirmed the tax consequences.
  6. Reconcile after completion. Verify positions, cost basis, beneficiaries, automatic contributions and the selected risk profile. Keep the old account open only as long as needed to resolve residual dividends or statements.

A practical decision framework

Choose Betterment or Wealthfront when goal automation is the priority

These are the closest functional substitutes in the cited comparison: both carry a listed 0.25% advisory fee and tax-loss harvesting. Select between them using the live minimum, account-registration, cash-yield and tax-document terms rather than the headline feature list.

Choose Vanguard Digital Advisor when independent quality evidence leads

Morningstar’s High assessment makes Vanguard the strongest quality-led candidate in the available evidence. Confirm current pricing and tax features before acting, because those details are not established here.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose Fidelity Go for a smaller balance or an existing Fidelity relationship

The fee schedule below and above $25,000 can make it attractive while your balance is small. Recalculate after expected growth and contributions could cross that breakpoint.

Choose E*TRADE Core Portfolios for ecosystem convenience

Its 0.30% listed fee and newly added tax-loss harvesting may be acceptable when account consolidation, statements and service access matter more than selecting the lowest advertised percentage.

Stay with Schwab when the $5,000 entry point and zero advisory fee fit

Staying can be rational if you value Schwab’s daily monitoring, automatic rebalancing, broad preset combinations and no stated advisory fee. Review the cash allocation and ETF expenses first; moving providers does not automatically lower total costs.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Comparing zero to 0.25% and stopping there: include fund expenses and foregone cash yield.
  • Assuming every account receives tax-loss harvesting: Schwab’s published eligibility starts at $50,000 in an enrolled taxable portfolio, and other providers may set different rules.
  • Ignoring fee breakpoints: Fidelity Go’s listed schedule changes at $25,000.
  • Moving appreciated ETFs without a tax plan: liquidation can create taxable gains.
  • Choosing by rating alone: Morningstar’s assessment is not a personalized allocation recommendation.
  • Forgetting wash-sale exposure: purchases in a separate brokerage or spouse’s account can affect harvesting.
  • Leaving recurring deposits behind: cancel or redirect automated contributions only after the new account is ready.
  • Assuming a transfer preserves every setting: risk profile, beneficiaries, fractional shares and cash instructions may require fresh elections.

Bottom line

For a direct Schwab replacement, start with Betterment Digital or Wealthfront and compare their current all-in cost and tax-account rules. Choose Vanguard Digital Advisor if Morningstar’s High assessment and Vanguard ecosystem are more important than a known fee in the available evidence. Fidelity Go suits smaller balances and Fidelity households, while E*TRADE Core Portfolios favors existing E*TRADE or Morgan Stanley customers. Schwab itself remains a strong low-advisory-fee option, provided you understand ETF expenses, the cash allocation and the $50,000 tax-loss-harvesting threshold before deciding to move.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.