Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

RTX Spark can be configured with up to 128 GB of shared LPDDR5 memory, but that memory is not the same as upgradeable graphics VRAM or a pair of user-replaceable DIMMs. NVIDIA’s DGX Spark reference system uses 128 GB of LPDDR5X unified memory, a single internal M.2 NVMe SSD, and declared acoustics of 35 dB sound power under maximum GPU stress and 19 dB at idle.

The details that matter most—memory capacity, SSD format, operating system, cooling and software support—depend on the specific laptop or desktop built around the RTX Spark platform. Treat RAM as a purchase-time decision, verify the OEM’s SSD service instructions, and check Windows-on-Arm or native Arm64 support before relying on existing Windows or CUDA software.

What NVIDIA RTX Spark is

NVIDIA describes RTX Spark as an ARM-based system-on-chip (SoC) platform designed for high-efficiency Windows laptops. It combines the CPU and Blackwell graphics in one chip instead of pairing a conventional processor with a separate graphics card. The platform uses shared LPDDR5 memory: the CPU and integrated GPU draw from the same physical pool.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That design changes how you should read specifications. A listing such as “128 GB memory” refers to unified system memory available to both processors. It does not mean the computer also has 128 GB of dedicated, separately upgradeable VRAM. The shared pool can be efficient for local AI and large creative projects, but applications compete for the same capacity.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Unified memory versus discrete VRAM

  • Unified memory: one LPDDR pool is allocated dynamically between CPU workloads and Blackwell graphics workloads.
  • Discrete graphics memory: a separate GPU normally has its own VRAM, while the operating system uses separate system RAM.
  • Planning consequence: a large model, high-resolution timeline or texture-heavy project can reduce the memory available to other applications because both sides use the same pool.

NVIDIA’s platform overview specifies support for up to 128 GB of LPDDR5 shared by the CPU and iGPU. The exact amount installed in a product is an OEM configuration choice, not a guarantee that every RTX Spark machine ships with the maximum.

How much RAM does RTX Spark have?

The platform ceiling is up to 128 GB of shared LPDDR5 memory. NVIDIA’s DGX Spark reference design specifies 128 GB of LPDDR5X unified system memory, a 256-bit memory interface and 273 GB/s of bandwidth. Those DGX Spark figures describe that reference system; they should not be treated as the specification of every future RTX Spark laptop or compact desktop.

Specification RTX Spark platform DGX Spark reference system What it means
Memory technology LPDDR5 shared memory LPDDR5X unified memory CPU and GPU use one pool rather than separate user-upgradeable VRAM.
Maximum or installed capacity Up to 128 GB; OEM-dependent 128 GB Check the exact product configuration before purchase.
Interface Not stated as one universal RTX Spark value 256-bit The DGX figure applies to the reference design.
Bandwidth Not stated as one universal RTX Spark value 273 GB/s Do not transfer this number to another chassis without an OEM specification.

Which capacity should you choose?

Choose capacity according to the largest workload you expect to keep resident, not simply the number of browser tabs you use. Local AI inference, large image or video projects, virtual machines and development environments can all consume substantial memory. Because graphics and system workloads share the pool, leaving headroom is more important than it is on a machine where a discrete GPU has independent VRAM.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For ordinary office work, a lower OEM option may be sufficient if one is offered. For local models, professional creative applications or multiple development environments, a 64 GB or 128 GB configuration gives more room for simultaneous CPU and GPU work. NVIDIA does not publish one universal set of retail capacities for all RTX Spark products, so compare the actual SKU rather than assuming a standard tier.

Can you upgrade RTX Spark RAM later?

Do not plan on a conventional DIMM upgrade. RTX Spark’s LPDDR memory is part of the platform’s integrated design, and NVIDIA’s public platform material does not promise a universal user-replaceable memory procedure. A product may expose no memory sockets at all. Treat the advertised unified-memory capacity as fixed for that model unless the OEM manual explicitly documents a supported replacement or expansion method.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Before ordering, look for the manufacturer’s service manual or specification page and confirm:

  • the installed unified-memory capacity;
  • whether the memory is factory-integrated;
  • whether opening the chassis affects warranty coverage; and
  • whether the model has different memory tiers that must be selected at purchase.

Storage: what is installed and what can be replaced?

Storage is more likely than RAM to provide a physical upgrade path, but it remains model-dependent. NVIDIA’s DGX Spark documentation lists one internal M.2 NVMe SSD, with 1 TB and 4 TB capacity options, and hardware-based self-encryption. That establishes the reference system’s storage approach; it does not guarantee the same slot, length or capacity options in every RTX Spark laptop or desktop.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to verify before buying an SSD

Do not order an M.2 drive based only on the phrase “NVMe supported.” Confirm the exact OEM documentation for:

  • M.2 length: an M.2 2242 drive is shorter than the common 2280 format, and the mounting screw position must match.
  • PCIe generation: a newer drive may operate at a lower negotiated speed, while firmware may impose a compatibility limit.
  • Thermal clearance: a heatsink, double-sided NAND package or thick label can interfere with the chassis shield.
  • Encryption behavior: hardware self-encryption, key handling and secure-erase procedures can affect cloning and recovery.
  • Warranty and service rules: some systems permit user replacement; others require an authorized service process.
  • Operating-system recovery: check whether the OEM supplies a recovery image, recovery partition or documented reinstall process.

Typical SSD replacement workflow

  1. Identify the exact model and board revision. Use the product label and the OEM support page, not only the retail family name.
  2. Read the service manual. Confirm the M.2 size, screw location, removal sequence and whether a thermal pad or shield must be transferred.
  3. Back up and decrypt as required. Hardware-based self-encryption can make a drive unreadable after replacement if keys or recovery credentials are not preserved.
  4. Prepare recovery media. Have the OEM recovery image or a supported operating-system installer ready before removing the original drive.
  5. Install the compatible NVMe SSD. Disconnect power, follow electrostatic-discharge precautions and tighten the retaining screw without stressing the module.
  6. Restore firmware and software. Update storage firmware only through the OEM’s supported method, then reinstall the operating system, drivers and CUDA components appropriate to the machine.

NVIDIA does not publish one universal RTX Spark service procedure. An SSD replacement that is straightforward in the DGX Spark reference design may be inaccessible or unsupported in a thin laptop.

Will Windows applications run on RTX Spark?

RTX Spark is an ARM platform, so compatibility depends on three things: a native Windows-on-Arm or Arm64 build, Microsoft’s x86 or x64 emulation, and whether the application relies on drivers or plug-ins that have not been ported.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Native Arm64 applications

A native Arm64 application is the lowest-risk option. It avoids translation overhead and is more likely to work with ARM-compatible drivers and development tools. Check the software publisher’s system requirements for an explicit Windows-on-Arm or Arm64 statement rather than inferring support from the application’s age or processor requirements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

x86 and x64 applications under emulation

Many conventional Windows applications can run through emulation, but compatibility is not binary. An application may launch while a plug-in, hardware driver, shell extension, copy-protection component or installer fails. Performance can also vary with workload and translation overhead. Test the complete workflow—including extensions, peripherals and file codecs—if the machine will be used professionally.

Drivers and specialist hardware

Drivers operate below the application layer and generally need an ARM-compatible build. Printers, audio interfaces, capture devices, security software, virtualization tools and older licensing dongles deserve particular scrutiny. A compatible application cannot compensate for a missing kernel-mode or device driver.

CUDA and developer compatibility

NVIDIA’s Windows-on-Arm developer guidance recommends porting applications or using an existing Windows-on-Arm development system to identify incompatible dependencies. It states that CUDA Toolkit 13.4 enables native Windows-on-Arm development and cross-compilation from the Windows x86_64 toolkit.

That distinction matters:

  • Native development: compile and run Arm64 software on the RTX Spark Windows system with the supported Arm64 CUDA toolchain.
  • Cross-compilation: build Arm64 output from an x86_64 Windows development environment, then deploy it to the RTX Spark machine.
  • Legacy projects: audit third-party libraries, build scripts, Python wheels, container images and binary extensions; a CUDA source tree can still fail because one dependency has no Arm64 build.

For a planned CUDA workload, verify the exact toolkit, driver and framework combination rather than relying on a generic “CUDA compatible” label. Confirm that your deep-learning framework, compiler, math libraries and any custom extensions publish Arm64 packages.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

DGX Spark operating-system versions

The DGX Spark reference platform uses DGX OS and follows its own release cadence. NVIDIA’s release notes list DGX OS 7.5.0, GPU driver 580.159.03, CUDA Toolkit 13.0.2 and Linux kernel 6.17 for the Founders Edition. NVIDIA also warns that GB10 partner systems may not receive updates at the same time.

Those versions describe the cited DGX Spark release, not a permanent requirement for every RTX Spark product. If you buy a partner system, follow that OEM’s update policy and release notes, and do not assume a Founders Edition update will arrive simultaneously or install unchanged.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How loud is RTX Spark under load?

For the DGX Spark reference configuration, NVIDIA declares a mean A-weighted sound power of 35 dB in operating mode and 19 dB at idle. The operating figure is measured during maximum GPU stress in a 25 °C ambient using ECMA-109 procedures.

Mode Declared DGX Spark value Conditions and limitation
Idle 19 dB mean A-weighted sound power Reference-system declaration; idle workload and fan policy matter.
Operating under maximum GPU stress 35 dB mean A-weighted sound power Measured at 25 °C ambient under ECMA-109 procedures.
Other RTX Spark laptops and desktops Not stated universally by NVIDIA Chassis, fans, heat sink, power limit and acoustic tuning vary by OEM.

Why the number may not match what you hear

Sound power is a standardized measure of the acoustic energy emitted by a device; it is not the same as a sound-pressure reading at your chair. Room reflections, microphone distance, background noise and mounting surface change perceived loudness. A thin laptop can also use a smaller heat sink and more aggressive fan curve than a compact desktop running the same SoC.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If office or studio noise is important, request the exact OEM’s acoustic declaration or an independent measurement for the specific model. Ask whether the test covers sustained GPU load, which ambient temperature was used, and whether the result is sound power or sound pressure. A brief burst benchmark is not equivalent to a long render or AI inference session.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

How to compare RTX Spark systems

Use the following checklist when two products carry the same platform name:

Comparison axis Questions to ask Why it matters
Unified memory How many gigabytes are installed, and is that the highest tier? CPU and GPU share the pool, and later DIMM expansion may not exist.
SSD Is there one M.2 slot? What length and PCIe generation are supported? Determines capacity, replacement options and thermal compatibility.
Software Are Windows-on-Arm, native Arm64 and the required CUDA toolkit supported? Emulation alone may not cover drivers or binary dependencies.
Display and I/O Which external displays, USB standards, networking and peripheral drivers are supported? Integrated graphics performance is only useful if the system connects to your workflow.
Acoustics Is a declared sound-power or sound-pressure result available for the exact chassis? Cooling hardware and fan curves can produce large model-to-model differences.
Power and thermals What sustained power limit and cooling solution are specified? They influence long-running performance and fan noise.
Updates and warranty Who supplies firmware, operating-system and driver updates, and who performs storage service? Partner systems may follow a different schedule from NVIDIA’s reference system.

Common problems and practical fixes

The advertised memory is smaller than expected

Check whether the specification describes total unified memory or available memory after the operating system reserves part of it. Confirm the exact SKU and firmware-reported capacity. There is no general DIMM upgrade assumption to fall back on, so a lower-capacity purchase may require replacing the entire system.

An application installs but will not run

Separate application compatibility from driver compatibility. Look for an Arm64 build, test the application without third-party plug-ins, update to an OEM-supported driver and verify that security or virtualization software has an ARM version. If the workload depends on a proprietary device, confirm its driver before deployment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A CUDA project builds on another PC but fails on RTX Spark

Audit every binary dependency, Python package, container base image and custom extension for Arm64 support. Use CUDA Toolkit 13.4’s native Windows-on-Arm development path or cross-compile from the Windows x86_64 toolkit, then match the deployed toolkit and driver versions to the target system.

The machine is louder than the published figure

Check whether you are comparing sound pressure at your location with NVIDIA’s sound-power declaration. Reproduce the test at a similar ambient temperature and workload, clear blocked vents and review the OEM’s performance or quiet fan profile. If the result remains abnormal for that model, use the manufacturer’s service process.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.